Braddom's Rehabilitation Care by Cifu, David X., ed.Concise and portable, Braddom’s Clinical Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, by Drs. David X. Cifu and Henry L. Lew, gives you dependable, up-to-date content in a handbook format ideally suited for use at the bedside or in outpatient clinics. This quick reference covers the everyday topics you need – assistive devices and orthoses, spasticity, pediatric, adult, and geriatric care, pain management, outcome measures, and much more – all derived from the most trusted name in the field of PM&R.
Clinical and Professional Reasoning in Occupational Therapy by John SchellSchell & Schell's Clinical and Professional Reasoning in Occupational Therapy, 2nd Edition offers up-to-date, easy-to-understand coverage of the theories and insights gained from years of studying how occupational therapy practitioners reason in practice. Written by an expanded team of international educators, researchers and practitioners, the book is the only work that goes beyond simply directing how therapists should think to exploring whyand how they actually think the way they do when working with clients. The 2nd Edition offers a wide array of new chapters and a new, more focused four-part organization that helps Occupational Therapy students develop the skills they need to identify and solve challenges throughout their careers. Reorganized text to focuses on theories and examples of professional reasoning in practice. -New chapters in Unit I include a detailed description of Schell's Ecological Model of Professional Reasoning and a new chapter on Embodiment. -Unit II includes a new chapter on Aspects of Reasoning and an expanded chapter on Interactive Reasoning. -A brand new Unit III on Professional Reasoning in Context shares actual cases and outlines the nuances of reasoning in different practice settings ranging from the NICU to community mental health. -Unit IV includes new and updated chapters on teaching in higher education and fieldwork, a new chapter on professional reasoning in management, and a revised chapter on considerations in research and scholarship in professional reasoning. Thinking About Thinking boxes are threaded throughout Learning activities in each chapter that ask readers to use different kinds of reasoning to manage various occupational therapy scenarios. Case Examples demonstrate how effective reasoning is applied in handling a range of clinical and professional issues.
Publication Date: 2017
A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation by Jennifer Bottomley; Carole B. LewisThe field of geriatric rehabilitation is constantly changing due to the discovery of new evidence-based evaluation and treatment strategies, as well as the continual support or refutation of older theories and practices. Now in itsFourth Edition, A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation has been updated to be at the forefront of these changes and includes free video content from MedBridge and a discount on a MedBridge subscription to geriatric rehabilitation courses offered by the authors. Drs. Jennifer M. Bottomley and Carole B. Lewis have compiled the plethora of available scientific research on geriatric populations and combined it with their years of actual clinical practice. Together this makes this text a complete evidence-based guide to the clinical care of geriatric patients and clients. The first part of A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition tackles applied gerontological concepts, providing the general knowledge base necessary for treating geriatric patients. Topics in this section include patient evaluation, an exploration of nutritional needs, and age-related changes in physiology and function, as well as many other foundational areas. In the second section, topics become more focused on patient care concepts like neurologic considerations, cardiopulmonary and cardiovascular considerations, and establishing community-based screening programs. In the final section, chapters center on administration and management, including important subjects such as attitudes, ethics, and legal topics, as well as consultation and research. New and updated in the Fourth Edition: Pearls section for succinct highlights of the content within each chapter The latest evidence-based practice interventions with complete references for further reading Updated graphics, pictures, and diagrams to illustrate the content Content summaries and streamlined text for enhanced readability Updated case studies to exemplify clinical decision-making Designed to provide valuable, real-life clinical knowledge, A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition gives physical therapists an evidence-based guide to the clinical aspects of rehabilitative care in older adult patients and clients.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Clinically-Oriented Theory for Occupational Therapy by Christopher AlterioPublisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This exciting first edition uses a practice focus, with heavy emphasis on application, to help students understand the most common Occupational Therapy theories and select the best for each individual situation. Dr. Alterio takes a unique, holistic approach by providing both the clinical context for how the theories play out in the real world, as well as a methodology for evaluating and applying the most relevant theory to ensure the best possible intervention outcomes. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. Links theory to treatment by providing an overview of each major OT theory followed by intervention approaches to help students achieve optimum results for each client. Applied examples that illustrate each major theory help make difficult concepts easier to comprehend. Case Studies with Analysis and Questions enhance students' critical thinking and problem-solving skills and prepare them for real-world practice. In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines, Learning Objectives, Key Terms, Reflect and Apply activities and bulleted Summaries help students master the material. NBCOT- style review questions help students prepare for the OT certification exam.
Call Number: WB 555 .A466 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Clinical Reasoning and Decision-Making in Physical Therapy: Facilitation, Assessment and Implementation by Gina Maria Musolino; Gail JensenClinical reasoning is an essential non-negotiable element for all health professionals. The ability of the health professional to demonstrate professional competence, compassion, and accountability depend on a foundation of sound clinical reasoning. The clinical reasoning process needs to bring together knowledge, experience, and understanding of people, the environment, and organizations along with a strong moral compass in making sound decisions and taking necessary actions. While clinical reasoning and the role of mentors has been a focus of the continued growth and development of residency programs in physical therapy, there is a critical need to have a broader, in-depth look at how educators across academic and clinical settings intentionally facilitate the development of clinical reasoning skills across one's career. Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy: Facilitation, Assessment, and Implementation fills this need by providing a comprehensive and in-depth focus on development of the patient-client management skills of clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. It takes into account teaching and learning strategies, assessment, and technological applications across the continuum from novice to residents/fellows-in-training, along with academic and clinical faculty for both entry-level and specialist practice. Drs. Gina Maria Musolino and Gail Jensen have designed this comprehensive resource with contributions from professional colleagues. The text centers on life-long learning by encouraging the development of clinical reasoning abilities from professional education through residency education. The aim and scope of the text is directed for physical therapy education, to enhance clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making for developing professionals and post-professionals in both clinical and academic realms, and for the development of clinical and academic faculty. Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy uniquely offers both evidence-based approaches and pragmatic consultation from award-winning authors with direct practice experiences developing and implementing clinical reasoning/clinical decision-making in practice applications for teaching students, residents, patients, and clinical/academic faculty in classrooms, clinics, and through simulation and telehealth. Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy is the first of its kind to address this foundational element for practice that is key for real-world practice and continuing competence as a health care professional. Physical therapy and physical therapist assistant students, faculty, and clinicians will find this to be an invaluable resource to enhance their clinical reasoning and decision making abilities.
Call Number: WB460 .C641 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice by Mark A. Jones; Darren A. RivettClinical reasoning is a key skill underpinning clinical expertise. Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice is essential reading for the musculoskeletal practitioner to gain the contemporary knowledge and thinking capacity necessary to advance their reasoning skills. Now in its 2nd edition, it is the only all-in-one volume of up-to-date clinical reasoning knowledge with real-world case examples illustrating expert clinical reasoning. This new edition includes: . Comprehensively updated material and brand new chapters on pain science, psychosocial factors, and clinical prediction rules. . The latest clinical reasoning theory and practical strategies for learning and facilitating clinical reasoning skills. . Cutting-edge pain research and relevant psychosocial clinical considerations made accessible for the musculoskeletal practitioner. . The role of clinical prediction rules in musculoskeletal clinical reasoning. . 25 all new real-world, clinical cases by internationally renowned expert clinicians allowing you to compare your reasoning to that of the best.
Publication Date: 2019
Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions by Joy Higgs (Editor); Gail M. Jensen (Editor); Stephen Loftus (Editor); Nicole Christensen (Editor)Clinical reasoning lies at the core of health care practice and education. Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions, therefore, occupies a central place in the education of health professionals, the enhancement of professional decision making of individuals and groups of practitioners with their clients, and research into optimal practice reasoning. Key themes presented: Clinical reasoning as a composite of encultured capabilities Clinical reasoning embedded within situated practice including the wider socio-economic and political contexts, the practitioner's and the client's contexts, and shared goals such as promoting health communities The importance of narratives, language and culture in clinical decision making Changing reasoning practices linked to increasing autonomy of practitioners working without the requirement of medical referrals Clinical reasoning as an increasingly team-based practice, including shared decision making with clients The need for sound strategies and tools to facilitate the expanding collaborations in health care across disciplines and with clients and carers Advanced education approaches promoting expansion and enhancement of reasoning strategies The importance of building good practices for learning clinical reasoning into curricula and into students' own practice development approaches Strengthening links between orthodox and complementary medicine reasoning practices New to this edition: All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators. This is a book for teachers and learners, practitioners, practice leaders, researchers and curriculum managers. Indeed, it is a valuable resource for educators seeking to ground their teaching practices in educational theory, sound knowledge of clinical reasoning and practice-based evidence, and researchers seeking to expand their research horizons. All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators.
Coping Strategies to Promote Occupational Engagement and Recovery by McNamara, M.This book is a one-stop resource that offers a unique combination of evidence-based methods for adult learning and coping strategy development, and will provide you with the tools to lead such groups or to develop your own.
It includes 30 ready-to-implement learning designs for coping strategy groups with corresponding handouts!
Call Number: WB 555 .M478c 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination by Stacie J. Fruth"This book meets its purpose in every way. [It is] comprehensive but made for the clinical world. Both the online and print versions are true assets for teaching this subject." - Jeff B. Yaver, PT (Kaiser Permanente) for Doody's Review Service Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination: Patient Interview and Tests & Measures, Second Edition provides physical therapy students and clinicians with the necessary tools to determine what questions to ask and what tests and measures to perform during a patient exam. This text utilizes a fundamental, step-by-step approach to the subjective and objective portions of the examination process for a broad spectrum of patients. This edition has been updated and revised to reflect the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, and it also features new and extensive coverage of goniometry and manual muscle testing techniques with more than 300 new photographs. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. KEY FEATURES * Videos demonstrating numerous assessment techniques as well as two patient interviews. * NEW and extensive coverage of manual muscle testing and goniometry (Chapter 9) * Three new subjective documentation examples are introduced in Chapter 4, with each subsequent chapter closing with additional documentation for each case specific to the tests and measures introduced in that chapter. * NEW section on Mobility and Locomotion links coverage of posture and gait (Chapter 6). * Brief case and sample documentation examples accompany coverage of each test and measure. * "Priority or Pointless" feature indicates when a particular assessment tool should be considered a priority. * Navigate 2 Advantage Access includes an eBook and robust video assets Applicable Courses (Graduate level physical therapy students) * Patient Management * Basic Examination * Physical Therapy Evaluation
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by Jane Clifford O'BrienPrepare for success in OT practice with a complete overview of the profession! Introduction to Occupational Therapy, 5th Edition helps you master the roles and responsibilities of the OT practitioner. Content promotes evidence-based OT practice, from client evaluation to planning interventions and goals to reaching optimal outcomes. You'll also learn valuable skills in clinical reasoning and in providing occupational therapy across the client's entire lifespan. Written by experienced educator and author Jane Clifford O'Brien, this comprehensive resource discusses today's OT treatment settings and adds a new chapter on cultural competence. Complete coverage of OT practice prepares you for care in areas such as adult, pediatric, geriatric, and mental health. A broad perspective fits the needs of both Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Assistant students. Case studies and activities in each chapter help you apply concepts and develop problem-solving skills. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to think logically and use research literature to formulate diagnoses and treatment plans. The OT Practice Framework provides a sound basis for decision making, defining occupational therapy areas of concern and the OT process. Chapter objectives, key terms, chapter summaries, and review questions highlight important content in each chapter. Student resources on the Evolve companion website include review questions with answers along with crossword puzzles to reinforce what you've learned in the book. NEW content on OT theory and practice includes the latest updates to the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework and OT Code of Ethics. New coverage of the role of certified Occupational Therapy Assistants shows where OTAs are employed, what licensure requirements they must meet, and how they fit into the scope of OT practice. NEW chapter on cultural competence provides the tools you need to work with culturally diverse clients in today's healthcare environment, and includes case studies with examples of cultural competence and its impact on the practice of OT. NEW Centennial Vision commentary provides a 'big picture' view of today's occupational therapy, and shows how OT is becoming a powerful, widely recognized, science-driven, and evidence-based profession as it reaches the age of 100.
Call Number: WB555 .S117i 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy by Renee R. TaylorWith an international team of expert contributors, Renee Taylor carries on Gary Kielhofner's innovative work in the 2nd Edition of his comprehensive research methodologies text. This guide bridges the gap between theorists and practitioners. It focuses on the relevance and logic of research to provide a practical, demystified approach to conducting applied research in the field for graduate students and clinicians. You'll begin with an introduction to the nature and scope of research and its place in OT and then explore research designs, measurements, and statistical analysis for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed studies. You'll examine the steps and procedures required to conduct research and how research can be used to shape professional practice and improve patient care.
Call Number: WB 555 T245k 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Measuring Occupational Performance by Mary Law, Carolyn Baum, Carolyn, Winnie DunnIn this Third Edition, Drs. Mary Law, Carolyn Baum, and Winnie Dunn have updated current chapters and added new topics that have not been covered in past editions, such as a chapter on measuring school performance, a key area of practice. Also included is a chapter on measurement principles and development to highlight the concepts common to all the measures included in the text. The Third Edition also has a focus on the best measures and measures that are used most frequently.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017
Occupational Therapy by Barbara A. Boyt SchellPublisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners. Packed with first-person narratives that offer a unique perspective on the lives of those living with disease, this edition offers much that is new as it continues to help students and clinicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to apply a client-centered, evidence-based and culturally relevant approach across the full spectrum of practice settings. Buy it as an eBook! Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more NEW! Each Unit is now reflective of the nomenclature for the new domains and processes covered in AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd Edition. NEW! "Centennial Notes" sections showcase perspectives from the history of OT, providing inspiring context to students entering the profession. NEW! A stronger global focus, which reflects more the professional as a global entity, prepares students to work effectively in today's global environment NEW! Coverage of the latest considerations in the field prepares students to work with the full range of clients, including veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless, and individuals who identify as LGBTQI. COMPREHENSIVE: The 13th Edition is the only text in the field to cover the full breadth and scope of occupational therapy, summarizing important and complex material in a completely accessible way. INTEGRATED: Integrated coverage of evaluation and intervention processes gives students a holistic overview of the field. PRACTICE-ORIENTED: Case Studies serve as models for problem-solving in dealing with clients, practice issues, and managing OT services and staff. INVITING: A striking full-color design filled with photos and illustrations welcomes today's students into this classic text. STUDENT-FRIENDLY: In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines. Learning Objectives, and Practice Dilemmas, help students master the material and prepare them for the current realities of OT practice. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction by Heidi McHugh Pendleton; Winifred Schultz-KrohnPedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction, 8th Edition prepares you for occupational therapy practice with adults who have physical disabilities. This cornerstone text provides a foundation for the development of clinical reasoning skills in a comprehensive, case-based learning approach to physical dysfunction. New full color photos and helpful pedagogy, including threaded case studies, OT Practice Notes, ethical considerations, and end-of-chapter review questions, reinforce learning, enhance retention, and prompt you to apply principles in a clinical setting. UNIQUE! Threaded case studies, woven throughout each chapter, help you apply concepts to real-life clinical practice. UNIQUE! Ethical Considerations boxes highlight the key ethical concerns of treatment options so you can practice ethically. UNIQUE! OT Practice Notes convey important considerations for professional practice. Focuses on the occupational therapist's role in health and wellness, which the OTA has identified as a key practice area in the 21st century. Information on prevention, rather than simply intervention or treatment, shows how OTs can take a proactive role in patient care. Evidence-based content included throughout, especially in regards to evaluation and intervention. Content on occupational therapy's commitment to considering cultural and ethnic diversity in every chapter. Key terms, chapter outlines, chapter objectives lay out the information you can expect to learn from each chapter.
Publication Date: 2018
Perspectives on Occupational Therapy Education by Steven D. Taff; Lenin C. Grajo; Barbara HooperPerspectives on Occupational Therapy Education: Past, Present, and Future outlines a path forward for occupational therapy educators, incorporating the impact of historical context, contemporary issues and trends, and international viewpoints on the development of the profession. With this mission in mind, Drs. Steven D. Taff, Lenin C. Grajo, and Barbara R. Hooper offer helpful tips, practical tools, and fresh insights to support current and future educators in developing their teaching philosophies and pedagogies. The book is divided into three main sections--past, present, and future--and examines: * The history of occupational therapy education, including the influence of critical philosophies, their relationship to higher education and healthcare, and the growth of accreditation standards and professional degree programs. * Current trends and challenges in healthcare and higher education, including bridging the gap between education and practice, the use of competency exams, expanding educational research, and promoting diversity and inclusion among faculty and students. * International perspectives on the development and future of occupational therapy education from leading scholars in Africa, Australia, Europe, North America, South America, and Southeast Asia, including trends in educational technologies, fieldwork education and requirements, and inter-professional education. An indispensable resource for educators, Perspectives on Occupational Therapy Education: Past, Present, and Future concludes with an imagining of the occupational therapy education landscape in the year 2050: a future in which occupational therapy educators are continuously responding to ongoing changes in health care policies, adapting to a more diverse and globally connected student population, and articulating the distinct value of occupational therapy in new and emerging areas of practice. Instructors in educational settings can visitwww.efacultylounge.com for additional education material to be used for teaching in the classroom.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Physical Rehabilitation by Susan B. O'Sullivan; Thomas J. Schmitz; George FulkIncorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences with physical therapy assessments and treatment procedures. Includes "Evidence Summary" tables in most chapters which evaluate current research on specific topics and support evidence-based practice. Enhances critical-thinking skills with open-ended clinical case studies. Covers strategies for fall prevention, virtual reality rehabilitation, body-weight treadmill training, and upper extremity amputations and prosthetics. Integrates the goals, examination procedures, and interventions of the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Call Number: WB460 .O86p 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Therapeutic Exercise: Foundations and Techniques by Carolyn Kisner; Lynn Allen Colby; John BorstadThe premier text for therapeutic exercise! Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Full-color videos show you how! A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques online at www.DavisPlus.com shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization, resistance, and spinal stabilization. You will also find supplemental tables and boxes and a glossary. See what students and practitioners are saying online about the previous edition... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Martinez Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F. Sousa Good buy. "Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa Swanson
Call Number: WB 541 K61t 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation, Fifth Edition by William E. PrenticeThe most comprehensive textbook available on therapeutic modalities in rehabilitation - enhanced by a full-color presentation and numerous case studies Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions. * Essential text for Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs * Author Bill Prentice was inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in 2004 * Evidenced based and supported by case studies and laboratory activities to demonstrate the application of the modalities on patients