The library has an extensive print and eBook collection that includes monographs, edited collections, memoirs, biographies, and more. All of these titles can be found by searching the library catalogue in Omni.
You may also have some luck browsing the shelves. Start with the call numbers below, which are where most Environmental Studies books are located. Books are located on the 1st and 2nd level of Douglas Library.
Knovel is a searchable database of more than 5,000 engineering and applied science handbooks and other reference works.
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes technology and business content from more than 250 publishers, along with videos, case studies, learning paths and self-assessments. The database provides more than 40,000 e-books, including the familiar O'Reilly titles with woodcut animal covers, plus 30,000 hours of video, learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Formerly known as Safari Tech E-books.
| Call Number | Subject |
| GE10 | Dictionaries and encyclopedias |
| GE20 | Directories |
| GE25-GE35 |
Communication in environmental sciences |
| GE42 |
Environmental ethics |
| GE50-GE56 | History of environmental sciences |
| GE70-GE90 | Environmental education, study and teaching |
| GE95-100 | Museums and exhibitions |
| GE105 | General works |
| GE123 | Handbooks, manuals, etc. |
| GE140-146 | Environmental quality and degradation |
| GE149-GE160 | Global environmental change |
| GE170-GE199 | Environmental policy |
| QC882-QC994.9 | Atmospheric pollutants, atmospheric greenhouse effect, global warming |
| QE38 | Environmental geology |
| QH72-QH77 | Nature conservation, landscape protection |
| TD169-TD1066 | Industrial environmental protection and control |
Use Omni to search the library's catalogue for books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, open access materials, and more. You can discover materials that are not available at Queen's but that you can freely request either within Omni or through interlibrary loan.
Take a look at the bibliography of journal articles that you find, or that an instructor has assigned to you. Often, you will find references to relevant and seminal books related to your research topic.
