Geospatial Data

Early-to-mid 20th century historical topographic maps covering the province of Ontario at the scales of 1:25,000 and 1:63,360.

Guide to accessing and navigating 1:63 360 and 1:25 000 index in GeoPortal.

An interactive map tool that allows you to view map layers, get information and answers about the locations in the City of Ottawa. Search by address, intersections, streets, facilities, or park names to find a location. Many different map layers of information are available, such as parks, schools, City facilities, property parcels, roads, zoning, and aerial photos dating back to 1928.

Geographic information for the County of Frontenac including transportation, hydrology, aerial imagery, emergency services, points of interest, zoning and more.

The online searchable map of Prince Edward County is a public GIS viewer that can be used to verify addresses, search for properties by roll number, view the current zoning of a property, print maps, and more. This tool allows users to compare and analyze data from multiple sources.

This release contains digital files for the surficial geology of the Greater Toronto and Oak Ridges Moraine areas. The Oak Ridges Moraine NATMAP and Hydrogeology Project has been a collaborative geoscience project with the Ontario Geological Survey, Ontario Ministry of Environment and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

The Provincial DEM is designed to represent true ground elevation across the Province. Based on best source data for different parts of the Province, it is a general purpose dataset from which other special purpose datasets have been derived. This DEM replaces the previous version (DEM 2.0), which is a retired product and should only be used for historical and reference purposes.

Maps unique ecologically defined features by combining image analysis and other data like geology. Grid and vector formats. It is broken into layers that cover UTM zones 15, 16 and 17. Layers representing each level of the classification hierarchy described in the data specs provided: class, group, section. Can create a consistent map to meet regional - to landscape level analysis (1:100,000).

The aim of creating a provincial disturbance map is to provide a consistent spatial inventory of natural and anthropogenic disturbances to meet regional and landscape level analysis needs (1:50,000 - 1:100,000). Classification of medium resolution satellite imagery provides a cost effective and repeatable mechanism for mapping these changes.

Standardized provincial reporting. The Ontario Public Service (OPS) has adopted these boundaries for administrative and functional purposes which will facilitate enterprise initiatives and enhance customer service.

The data is licensed to Brock University faculty, staff and students for teaching and research purposes only. A license agreement must be signed before the files will be delivered. The Niagara Vector Data 2010 include selected GIS layers acquired from The Niagara Region: Building footprints, Campgrounds, Cemeteries, etc. Black & White Mosaic Orthoimage – 1 metre resolution.

Available upon request. Licensed data. Use is restricted to Queen's University students, faculty and staff for academic teaching and research. Data User Agreement required. All use shall acknowledge the City of Ottawa as the owner of copyright. Covers the City of Ottawa and parts of the City of Gatineau. Original uncompressed Tiff images compressed to MrSID files (20:1 compression ratio).

SWOOP 2006 was initiated by Land Information Ontario (LIO) and other partner organizations to acquire approximately 42,000 square kilometres of aerial imagery in southwestern Ontario. The horizontal accuracy specification for the acquisition was set to be within 45cm of the actual location 95% of the time.

Available upon request. Gatineau Park was flown in October 1994. Each photo covers a 4km x 3km area and source pixel resolution was 1/4 metre. Ottawa Urban Area was flown in October 1998. Control was airborne GPS on photo centres reinforced with post photo identification. Source pixel resolution is ½ metre.

The political entity we now know as Ontario was originally created in 1791 as Upper Canada. Since that time, in response to population growth and administrative needs, there have been changes to its boundaries, both external and internal. The Archives of Ontario has prepared this guide to provide information about changes to Ontario's borders and political composition.

Detailed soil survey reports and maps are the most detailed available for the regions of Canada to which they correspond. Includes Reconnaissance Soil Surveys and compilations featuring reports and maps suitable for obtaining a general overview of the location and extent of major soil types.

Panchromatic imagery, greyscale. The Source Water Protection QuickBird Imagery Project constitutes a high-resolution satellite imagery data set for approximately 120,000 km2 in the Province of Ontario. This data consists of orthorectified image derivatives from the Level Basic-1B bundled imagery provided to the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) by Digital Globe, Inc.

Specialized maps from the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks. Includes Access Environment, Guide to eating Ontario Fish, Source Protection Information Atlas, Toxics reduction, Find a Conservation reserve, and other maps.

The Greater Toronto Area (GTA) Orthophotography Project 2002 consists of over 26,000 one-square-kilometer tiles of orthorectified colour imagery. The imagery features 20 cm pixels for Niagara, Hamilton, Halton, Peel, York, Toronto and Durham, 30 cm pixels for Simcoe, and 50cm pixels for Peterborough and Northumberland. The imagery was flown in the spring of 2002.

The Greater Toronto Area (GTA) Orthophotography Project 2002 consists of over 26,000 one-square-kilometer tiles of orthorectified colour imagery. The imagery features 20 cm pixels for Niagara, Hamilton, Halton, Peel, York, Toronto and Durham, 30 cm pixels for Simcoe, and 50cm pixels for Peterborough and Northumberland. The imagery was flown in the spring of 2002.

2005 Orthoimagery of GTA & Hamilton. Colour aerial photography captured in the Spring of 2005. Orthoimagery at a resolution of 20cm Coverage Area. All lands lying within the Regions of Durham, York, Peel & Halton, the City of Toronto and the City of Hamilton.

A large part of Ontario Cottage Country is covered in this dataset.

A web version of the Official Road Map of Ontario which the Ministry of Transportation has been producing, in paper version, since 1923. Includes the Northern Ontario Road Map, Southern Ontario Road Map, and Map Information. For the first time, the 2020 Official Road Map of Ontario update includes the names and locations of all Ontario First Nation communities.

Hastings County GIS Map Applications include General & Zoning Interactive Maps, the Hastings-Quinte Region Road Atlas, and Hastings County Open Data.

An index identifying Ontario Base Map (OBM) map tiles and digital vector data available for each tile. Eastern and Southern Ontario is covered at a scale of 1:10,000 and Northern Ontario is covered at a scale of 1:20,000. Created and updated by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources between 1977 and 2000.

GeologyOntario is an online warehouse that contains all of the publically available digital data collected by the Mines and Minerals division. All data is available for download, can be discovered by using attribute-based search, and can be viewed and visually explored or searched through OGSEarth.

The source of area-specific land use policy for Crown lands in a large part of central and mid-northern Ontario. Features an interactive map browser that allows users to view the boundaries of Crown land use areas as well as associated land use policies. Land use policies are presented in policy reports specific to each land use area and can be accessed using the interactive map.

The Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan (“Plan”) is an ecologically-based plan established by the Ontario government to provide land use and resource management direction for the 190,000 hectares of land and water within the Moraine. The sand barrens, savannahs, and tallgrass prairies dataset represents rare communities on the Oak Ridges Moraine.

Includes agricultural operations polygons created for project areas across Ontario. These have been digitized against ortho imagery. The descriptions of these polygons include: Farms, Fields, Fencecrows and Roughland. This dataset differs from the ARI - 1983. The ARI - 1983 dataset provides information on specific crops and field use, whereas this dataset broadly denotes land use.

The province of Ontario is divided into geographic areas called electoral districts. Electoral district boundaries were redrawn for the 2018 provincial general election to increase the number of electoral districts in Ontario from 107 electoral districts in 2014 to 124 electoral districts. Features maps for each electoral district and a provincewide map of all electoral districts.

An information services site made available by the Grand River Conservation Authority (GRCA). GRIN is your gateway to exploring and retrieving information about the Grand River watershed, providing quick and easy access to GRCA's various interactive applications, web services, and data download tools.

Contains descriptive information including slope class, Canada Land Inventory (CLI) ranking, stoniness, drainage class, texture etc. The CLI components of the data layer can be used as a tool for broad land use planning decisions, and is not necessarily intended for field-level management. Data can be applied to source water protection, nutrient management and soil erosion modeling.

This data layer is symbolized to represent the Provincial Forest Type (8 types) within each Forest Management Unit. The eight provincial forest types represent a mix of forest cover required for silviculture, wildlife habitat and sustainability assessment requirements at broad regional and provincial planning and reporting levels.

This series contains data sets that can be used to identify areas of acquired and unpatented lands. Supplementary tables can be used and are available for download from the additional documentation section. These data sets are part of what was known as the OMNR Non-Fundamental Dataset.

Represents the authoritative watershed boundaries for Ontario. The data is based on a framework similar to the Atlas of Canada Fundamental Drainage Areas and the United States Watershed Boundary Dataset, however it adopts a more stringent scientific approach to watershed delineation.

Represents the authoritative watershed boundaries for Ontario. The data is based on a framework similar to the Atlas of Canada Fundamental Drainage Areas and the United States Watershed Boundary Dataset, however it adopts a more stringent scientific approach to watershed delineation. The collection includes five data classes: Main, primary, secondary, tertiary, and quaternary.

Contains: 1) Basic property report correlating the ownership PIN to the assessment roll number. 2) Digital property ownership and assessment parcel polygons, attributed with the 9-digit PIN, or 15-digit ARN.

A spatial representation and attribute information for Ontario wetlands. Wetlands are lands that are seasonally or permanently flooded by shallow water. They also include lands where the water table is close to the surface. The wetland polygons are managed independently from other hydro data classes and may overlap water bodies or other hydro data.

Bus, subway, and streetcar routes.

The land use classification is based on air photo interpretation, field surveys, and census information and is divided by NTS map base. Most of the classifications are 'use' classes however, some vegetative cover classes are included. Classifications have been standardized across coverage. Additional years available from Open Government: https://open.canada.ca/en

Geography Network Canada is an online resource for finding and sharing Canadian geographic content, including maps and data from many of the country's leading providers. OBM data may be downloaded in a variety of formats (SHP, AutoCAD DWG and DXF, Microstation Design Files and many others) and in either Lat/Long or in the Lambert Conformal Conic coordinate system.

The City of Ottawa provides free access to many of its data sets through a dedicated data portal. Data is licensed under the Open Government License, making it easy to use and reuse. The City continues to add data to the catalogue and accepts requests from the public to post specific data.

Comprised of seven land use designations explaining how land shall be used throughout the area: Escarpment Natural Area, Escarpment Protection Area, Escarpment Rural Area, Minor Urban Centre (of which exists as a separate data class), Urban Area, Escarpment Recreation Area and Mineral Resource Extraction Area.

An index to the Forest Resource Inventory (FRI) aerial photography collection. To search for a photo, click the Ontario map in the location closest to the photo you want. Users can navigate through different layers of the map within the interface and zoom in on locations of interest. Individual dots represent areas for which we photos are held and the years of those photos.

Provides geoscience data, collected by the Mines and Minerals division of the Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry. Data can be viewed using user-friendly geographic information programs such as Google Earth. Provides data on topics including mining claims, geology, index maps, administrative boundaries, and abandoned mines.

The Ontario Land Cover Data Base, Second Edition (2000) provides a classification of 27 broad land cover types north of the southern boundary of the Canadian Shield, within the province of Ontario. The land cover classes consist of vegetation types (such as forest, wetlands, etc.) and categories of non-vegetated surface (such as waterbodies, bedrock outcrops, or settlements).

An extensive survey of the forest resources of Ontario originally designed in 1946 to locate merchantable timber species for supplying mills. This data was updated in 2018 to group all blocks and boundaries together into four image services, organized by UTM zone. This provides more seamless and extensive coverage due to a significant and lossless reduction in the size of tiles.

Available upon request. Satellite images of Ontario produced by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources between 1984 and 1995.

Available upon request. Satellite images of Ontario produced by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources between 1999 and 2001.

Search for content using Find Data, browse by topic or discover Foundation Geospatial Data sets. Topics include Boundaries, Health, Imagery and Base Maps, Planning and Cadastral, Transportation, Elevation, Plants and Animals, Agriculture, Water, Society and Culture, Utilities and Communications, and Geology.

Provides a variety of spatial and tabular datasets pertaining to the city's population, infrastructure, and services.

Historical records include: City of Toronto government, pre-1998 amalgamation municipal governments, papers of people, families, organizations and businesses, photographs, plans and architectural drawings. Maps include Fire Insurance Plans, Historical Maps & Atlases, Aerial Photographs (including Valley Lands), City of Toronto Planning Board Atlas, ca. 1957-1960, and Annexation Map.

1961 census tract boundary files and attribute data tables for the City of Toronto. The boundaries correspond to the current boundaries of the City of Toronto in 2012.

Features include CityMap and the Map Gallery. CityMap may be used to find addresses, streets, and city places of interest such as libraries, community centres, and parks and recreation facilities. The Map Gallery provides a selection of popular map layers and themes.

Features include Interactive Mapping and the Map Gallery. Hamilton Maps provides GIS data on topics such as Base Mapping, Capital Construction Projects, Census Data for Hamilton, Child Care, City-Owned Properties, Cultural Heritage Resources, Development Applications, Downtown, BIAs & CIPAs, EarlyON Centres, Farm Map & Directory, Find My Ward, etc.

SOLRIS is a primary data layer that provides a comprehensive, standardized, landscape level inventory of natural, rural and urban lands. SOLRIS provides a standardized geospatial information layer that allows for reporting on changes in natural and anthropogenic features, such as wetland extent, forest afforestation/deforestation, habitat connectivity and built-up areas.

The Contour data class consists of linear segments that connect contiguous points of the same elevation that are compiled and used to describe terrain relief. Includes: Contour Land Contour Land Approximate Contour Land Auxiliary/Interpolated Contour Land Depression. Southern Ontario contour interval is 5 meters. Near north contour interval is 10 meters. Far north contour interval varies.

Provides the locations of various types of health service providers. For each health service provider, there is a selection of attributes provided, including: Service provider name in English and French (if available), service provider type, details related to service provider (i.e., a subcategory of service provider type) and address information (e.g., Address line 1, Community, Postal Code, etc.).

Determine the location and availability of Near Infrared Colour Air photos collected by the Ministry of Natural Resources in southern Ontario Between the years of 1994-2002. Digitally converted from 148 rolls (64000 frames) of colour infrared aerial photography to a professional quality digital version that supports orthorectification, better feature interpretation and high-resolution inkjet printing.

Boundary files available upon request. DRAPE imagery files for the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve are also available through Scholars GeoPortal.

A Greenbelt Plan to protect about 1.8 million acres of environmentally sensitive and agricultural land in the Golden Horseshoe from urban development and sprawl. Layers available: Outer Boundary and Greenbelt Designations; Greenbelt Natural Heritage System Boundary; Rare Plant Community Layer; Greenbelt Selected Wildlife Habitat. Available upon request.

Simple outline of the boundary of the CRCA. Available upon request.

Addresses, buildings, hydrography, parcels, sidewalks, streets in SHP and CAD formats. Received as current from the City in August 2009. Available upon request.

Colour orthophotos of Hamilton. Updated vector data includes buildings, property parcels, 1 meter contours, road edges, sidewalks, sewers and water infrastructure features, special interest points such as schools, recreation centres, parks, hospitals, and arenas. The images are georeferenced (UTM, NAD83). Available upon request.

The official online store for The City of Calgary. Features include documents, imagery (orthophotos), maps (digital maps and geospatial data), property information, and services.

City of Vancouver public data. Available to format using tables, maps, and charts. Data can be exported in multiple formats. Accessible via API. Available datasets by theme include business and economy, culture and education, demographics, food and housing, geography and imagery, government and finance, parks, recreation & pets, property and development, safety, etc.

The Manitoba Land Initiative web site is the source for geo-spatial information from the Government of Manitoba. The web site allows on-line access to the MLI corporate land data warehouse.

GeoNB is New Brunswick’s gateway to geographic information. The Map Products section contains pre-generated, static maps created to convey a specific piece of information and may be of interest to multiple user groups for general purpose map display. In general they are not intended to be authoritative products, nor do they necessarily contain the most current information available.

Detailed map of New Brunswick. Shows contours, building footprints, transportation, drainage, generalized land cover and much more. Free data downloads (requires registration) for GIS. Via the Geography Network Canada, an online resource for finding and sharing Canadian geographic content, including maps and data from many of our country's leading providers.

Geographic Information Services (GIS) is the designated mapping service provider for the Province of Nova Scotia, providing government and public with Foundation Geography and GeoServices. GeoNOVA partners contribute to the Nova Scotia Geospatial Infrastructure to support the discovery and delivery of better information, products and services.

A collection of 350 maps and charts from the pre-1900 period off value to maritime historians, historians of colonization and development, political scientists, toponymists, geographers and cartographers. The maps show the shape of the island of Newfoundland. With the magnification feature, digitized maps can be superior to their paper originals.

DMTI Spatial is the creator of CanMap mapping solutions, which provides national GIS data for the Canadian market. CanMap is utilized by financial institutions, telecommunications companies, government agencies, etc.

Provides a selection of interactive and historical maps and geographical data available for reference or downloading. Includes the Canadian Geochronology Knowledgebase (CGKB) representing publicly available geochronological information for Canada. The data is compiled from federal, provincial and territorial government publications and reports, university theses, books and journal articles.

Neighbourhood Boundaries are available in urban areas and Community Boundaries are available in urban and rural areas. Community: a geographically defined area identified by a group of interacting people living in a location. In addition to location, community may be re-enforced by similarities shared within a location including shared cultural, ethnic, or moral characteristics.

Health regions are defined by the provinces and represent administrative areas or regions of interest to health authorities. This series of datasets contains the digital boundaries depicting health regions in Canada, and, correspondence files linking health regions to the latest Census geographic codes.

A portal for geospatial data provided by Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). Features include Topographic Information, Geospatial Applications and Tools (Open Government Search, Geospatial Product Index – HTML, Toporama Interactive Map, Geospatial Data Extraction) and the GeoBase Surface Water Program (GeEAU).

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) was engaged in a program to compile Great Lakes bathymetric data and make them readily available to the public. This new bathymetry provided a more detailed portrayal of lakefloor topography, and revealed some lakefloor features seen for the first time.

The Canadian Soil Information Service (CanSIS) is an authoritative source of soil data and land resource information for Canada. Services and information include the National Soil Database, soil interpretations, soil survey reports, printed maps, Canadian soil publications archive, photo gallery, interactive maps, and glossary.

A comprehensive view of the area of Canada and the World situated between 55ºN latitude and the North Pole. Features include all federal, provincial and territorial boundaries for Canada including the Nunavut proposed boundary as well as the international boundaries of neighbouring countries. Also features include major road and rail transportation networks, hydrography and ice cover.

This product contains the Canada Land Inventory (CLI) - Multiple scales of Land Capability / Limitation for Agriculture. These agricultural capability / Limitation maps can be used at the regional level for making decisions on land improvement and farm consolidation, for developing landuse plans, and for preparing equitable land assessments.

Provides a quality geometric description and a set of basic attributes describing Canada's inland surface waters. It provides geospatial digital data compliant with the NHN Standard such as lakes, reservoirs, watercourses (rivers and streams), canals, islands, drainage linear network, toponyms or geographical names, constructions and obstacles related to surface waters, etc.

Includes both Cartographic Boundary Files showing landmass (shoreline) as well as Digital Boundary Files that include water.

indicates the locations of business and recreational points of interest across Canada. Each point includes North America Standard Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Standard Industry Classification (SIC) placing them in categories including, but not limited to: Healthcare Facilities, Shopping Centres, Postal Outlets, Golf Courses, and Education.

This inventory presents chronologically the satellite images acquired, orthorectified and published over time by Natural Resources Canada. It is composed of imagery from the Landsat7 (1999-2003) and RADARSAT-1 (2001-2002) satellites, as well as the CanImage by-product and the control points used to process the images.

An integrated product containing orthorectified and pansharperned QuickBird Satellite imagery data combined with CanMap streets data. It provides satellite imagery at 60cm resolution along with boundary and point data. For each record, images are arranged as one mosaic dataset and each mosaic has a currency date associated with it as part of the file name. Supplementary files included.

Natural Resources Canada's (NRCan) topographic raster maps (1944-2012) provide a representation of the topographic phenomena of the Canadian landmass. In all cases, they accurately represent the topographical data available for the date indicated (validity date). The combination of CanMatrix and CanTopo data provides complete national coverage.

GeoBase is a federal, provincial and territorial government initiative that is overseen by the Canadian Council on Geomatics (CCOG). It is undertaken to ensure the provision of, and access to, a common, up-to-date and maintained base of quality geospatial data for Canada. Geobase data are delivered under various themes including Canadian Land Cover and National Railway Network (NRWN).

1944-2005. Comprises digital vector data sets of the Canadian landmass. Includes features such as watercourses, urban areas, railways, roads, vegetation, and relief. The organizational unit for the NTDB is the National Topographic System (NTS), based on the North American Datum of 1983 (NAD83). Each file (data set) consists of one NTS unit at the 1:50,000 or 1:250,000 scale.

Contains more than 60 topographic features classes organized into 8 themes: Transport Features, Administrative Features, Hydro Features, Land Features, Manmade Features, Elevation Features, Resource Management Features and Toponymic Features. Can be used in Web Map Services (WMS) and geographic information systems (GIS) applications and used to produce thematic maps.

Geoscience information of the Ottawa/Outaouais (Ontario/Québec) area including geological history, subsurface database, stratigraphy, bedrock, surficial and hydrogeology maps and reports.

Open Government is about making government more accessible to everyone. Participate in conversations, find data and digital records, learn about open government, and browse the collection of more than 80,000 open data and information assets.

This data set reconstructs the census compilation and dissemination geography of the 1951 Canadian Census at the census division (CD) and census subdivision (CSD) level of geography. Additional data from the 1951 Census year is available from Statistics Canada/UBC.

Contains all the Cartographic Boundary Files (CBF) produced by Statistics Canada for the 2006 census. Datasets include: Agricultural Ecumene (Census Divisions), Census Agricultural Regions, Census Consolidated Subdivisions, Census Divisions, Census Metropolitan Areas & Census, Agglomerations, Census Subdivisions, Census Tracts, and Designated Places.

The National Air Photo Library (NAPL) of Natural Resources Canada archives over 6 million aerial photographs covering all of Canada, some of which date back to the 1920s. The NAPL indexes and stores federal aerial photography for Canada, and maintains a comprehensive historical archive and public reference centre.

Canada’s national bank of official geographical names. Access nearly 350,000 currently approved geographical names. These names are authorized by the Geographical Names Board of Canada (GNBC), through its provincial, territorial and federal representatives. Additionally, you may query 37,000 formerly approved names of historical interest and 3,500 names of undersea features.

The Canadian Digital Elevation Model (1945-2011) is part of Natural Resources Canada's altimetry system designed to better meet the users' needs for elevation data and products. The CDEM stems from the existing Canadian Digital Elevation Data (CDED). In these data, elevations can be either ground or reflective surface elevations.

The Toporama Mapping Tool allows users to search place names, measure distances, and selectively display individual Toporama layers such as transportation, contours, hydrography or place names. Users may choose from 3 base layers (Hillshade, Landsat imagery and the Canada Base Map).

Wind Atlas aims to develop new meteorological tools and provides the results of the numerical simulations run on all of Canada to determine wind energy potential. Features include colour maps representing the average wind velocity and power, corresponding geophysical characteristics and an overview of the methodology used to generate the simulation maps, and downloadable data.

NatureCounts facilitates the collection, management, analysis and sharing of natural inventory and monitoring data, with a focus on birds and other vertebrates such as amphibians, reptiles and bats. NatureCounts is the first Canadian node of the Avian Knowledge Network, a group dedicated to the understanding of the patterns and dynamics of bird populations across the Western Hemisphere.

Housing prices across the country by province and city. Historic data not available for all places.

40,000 item-level descriptions from the "old map card catalogue" or, more or less, the entries contained in the 16-volume Catalogue of the National Map Collection, Public Archives of Canada, published by G.K. Hall & Company in 1976. Does not include maps, atlases and globes included in the Amicus database. Related holdings and a facsimile collection are available upon request.

Shapefiles of the Federal Electoral District Boundaries and Polling Division Boundaries.

These data sets reconstruct the census compilation and dissemination geography of various historical (1911-1951) Canadian Census at the census division (CD) and census subdivision (CSD) level of geography.

Earth sciences tools and applications include the Expedition Database (ED), Geodetic Reference Systems, Geoscience Data Repository for Geophysical Data, Geospatial Data Extraction, Groundwater Information Network, Lexicon of Canadian Geological Names on-line, Place Names, Satellite Imagery and Air Photos, and The Atlas of Canada - Toporama.

Demographic census data files for mapping purposes at various census geographies eg. census tract, census subdivision and dissemination area.

A selected list of climate-related resources found in the Queen's University Library Government Information collection and on the Web. Includes local (Kingston, Ontario), national, global, and other resources (including solar radiation).

Northern, national, and continental-scale land cover products represent data collected by various satellite sensors at different spatial resolutions and at different points in time. Land cover datasets help detect changes in the landscape over time due to natural and human factors, support land use monitoring, and reporting on international commitments.

National Mapping Agency of Ireland with free map viewer. Includes historic 6 Inch as base map.

The national mapping agency of Great Britain open data viewer - for modern comparison maps.

From UK National Archives collection.

Maps from the National Library of Scotland.

Includes Ireland until the Anglo-Irish Treaty in 1922, Northern Ireland from 1922, and Calendar of Papal Registers, Britain and Ireland.

Over 1,900 sheets covering 62 towns - the most detailed maps ever surveyed by Ordnance Survey. Browse the maps by zoomable map of Scotland with searchable street names gazetteer, as full screen overlays on Google Maps and Virtual Earth satellite and map layers, and by individual sheets with further information and graphic indexes.

Includes Ordnance Survey maps, maps of Scotland, County Maps, Estate Maps, Town Plans and views, Coastal Admiralty charts, Military maps, Series maps, Bridges/Canals/Railways, Air Photo mosaics, Bathymetrical Survey, International/non-UK maps, and atlases.

A geographical encyclopaedia, featuring details of towns, villages, bens and glens from the Scottish Borders to the Northern Isles. The first comprehensive gazetteer for Scotland since 1885, it includes tourist attractions, industries and historical sites, together with histories of family names and clans, biographies of famous Scots and descriptions of historical events associated with Scotland.

A range of historical geological maps, sections and memoirs of Ireland, mostly from the 19th century. This resource illustrates the original work undertaken by the pioneers of Irish geology and provides a record of the progress of geological mapping in Ireland. Developed jointly by the Geological Survey of Ireland, the Geological Survey of Northern Ireland and the British Geological Survey.

A range of datasets from bedrock, quaternary, groundwater, marine, geological heritage, to geotechnical, minerals, geophysics, geochemistry and geohazards. Data can be downloaded in zip files for view in Geological Survey Ireland's online viewers. Metadata can be accessed along with web services. Goldmine is a repository of scanned documents in particular old maps and reports.

Part of the Department for the Economy Northern Ireland (DfE), the GSNI is staffed by scientists of the British Geological Survey (BGS) under contract to DfE. GSNI holds an extensive archive of maps, boreholes and site investigation reports; detailed urban and regional geochemical and geophysical data, and publishes books, memoirs and reports.

Map collection of the National French Library/ Bibliothèque nationale de France.

Digitized collection of France maps.

A comprehensive web mapping service of the French government that publishes maps and geophysical aerial photographs from more than 90 sources for France and its territories.

The heart of the collection comprises ancient maps, atlases and travel books to the Holy Land. It is the largest of its kind in the world and includes maps and atlases of other locations. The collection also includes scientific literature on the Holy Land, studies about the historical geography of the Holy Land, Bible dictionaries, and copies of early Bibles that feature maps.

Interactive mapping tools from the United States Census Bureau.

EarthExplorer (EE) provides online search, browse display, metadata export, and data download for earth science data from the archives of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). EE provides an enhanced user interface using state-of-the-art technologies for searching, viewing, and downloading data.

A project of the William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture at The Newberry Library in Chicago, the atlas presents complete data about the creation and changes in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia. Includes non-county areas, unsuccessful authorizations for new counties, and changes in county names.

A distributed archive of geoscience information. Provides access to more than 100,000 geologic maps and other types of geoscience reports and data published from the early 1800s to the present day, by the USGS, the State Geological Surveys, and hundreds of other organizations.

Soil Data and Maps. Includes the gridded National Soil Survey Geographic Database (gNATSGO), a composite database that provides complete coverage of gridded soils information for the United States and Island Territories. Combines data from the Soil Survey Geographic Database (SSURGO), State Soil Geographic Database (STATSGO2), and Raster Soil Survey (RSS) databases.

The Geologic Atlas of the United States is a set of 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. Each folio includes both topographic and geologic maps for each quad represented in that folio, as well as description of the basic and economic geology of the area. Maintained by the Map & GIS Library at Texas A&M University Libraries.

The NHGIS provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

The official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN). The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes, as well as non-Roman script spellings of many of these names. GNS can be used for purposes including GIS, GEOINT, and finding places.

The U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN) is a Federal body created in 1890 and established in its present form by Public Law in 1947 to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government. The BGN comprises representatives of Federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands.

TGN is not a geographic information system, although it may be linked to existing major, general-purpose, geographic databases and maps. While most records in TGN include coordinates, these coordinates are approximate and are intended for reference ("finding purposes") only (as is true of coordinates in most atlases and other resources, including NGA (formerly NIMA) databases).

The U.S. Coast Survey was created in 1807 to provide nautical charts that would help the nation with safe shipping, national defense, and maritime boundaries. Coast Survey continues to provide navigation products and services that ensure safe and efficient maritime commerce on America’s oceans and coastal waters, and in the Great Lakes.

Covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions (past and present). Users are encouraged to cite "NOAA's Historical Map & Chart Collection" when using the image(s). The U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey (1878 to 1970) also produced land sketches, Civil War battle maps, and aeronautical charting from the 1930s to the 1950s.

The APA uses GIS to understand and support the natural and cultural resources of the Park. Maps include Park Land Use, Development Plan Map, Telecommunication Towers, State Land Master Plan Map (June 1972 edition), Park Visitor Interpretive Center Map (2003), Park Population Estimate of Towns (2000, 2010 Census), etc. Data, Statistics, and Analyses available.

Provides interactive access to demographic information including census, economic, election, religion data, etc. The map feature allows users to explore all historical and modern US census data across the centuries and down to street level detail where available. Users may also create data reports at all geographic levels, including state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and place.

Hydrologic data (over-lake precipitation, runoff, lake evaporation, net basin supplies, connecting channel flows, diversion flows, beginning-of-month lake levels, and changes in storage) for simulation, forecasting, and water resource studies on the Laurentian Great Lakes and their basins. Coverage: Lake Superior, Lake Michigan, Lake Huron, Lake Erie, Lake Ontario, and Lake St.Clair.

Mapping work and Geographic Information System (GIS) files, called map layers, are available for the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River. GIS layers available for the Great Lakes Basin include: Political Boundaries, Geographic Boundaries, Elevation/Bathymetries, Basin (HUC), Hydrology, Fishery, Bird, etc.

A collection of 1,612 Soil Survey Maps produced from 1899 to 1950 by the U.S Department of Agriculture. A majority of the maps are at a scale of one inch equals one mile (1:63,360). While the methodology for classification of the soils is obsolete, these maps are rich in cultural detail. The maps are provided courtesy of the Geological Survey of Alabama and Amelia Gayle Gorgas Library.

The Great Lakes Bathymetry series has been compiled to rescue Great Lakes lake floor geological and geophysical data and make it more accessible to the public. This bathymetry of the Great Lakes including Lake Ontario, Lake Erie, Lake Saint Clair, Lake Huron, Lake Michigan provides a detailed look at the lake floor topography and serves as a GIS base layer for many applications.

NREL's geospatial data science research uses geographic information systems (GIS) to produce maps, analyses, models, applications, and visualizations that inform energy planning and production. Data and tools include: Biomass, Geothermal, Hydrogen, Marine and Hydrokinetic, Solar, Wind, and Crosscutting Renewable Energy.

1:2,000 scale vector base mapping files covering much of the urban area of the city of Ottawa. Current to 2003. Available upon request.

Derived from the City's road network file and address point file. Data down-loaded from the corporate GIS and current as of March 2008. The metadata is essentially the same as the 1:2,000 data set except the accuracy is only +/- one metre. Available upon request.

TopoView highlights the USGS's topographic map. In 1879, the USGS began to map the Nation's topography. TopoView shows the many and varied topographic maps of each of these areas through history. This interface was created by the National Geologic Map Database project (NGMDB), in support of topographic mapping program managed by the National Geospatial Program (NGP).

Bathymetry (seafloor depth), is a critical parameter providing the geospatial context for a multitude of marine scientific studies. Since 1997, the International Bathymetric Chart of the Arctic Ocean (IBCAO) has been the authoritative source of bathymetry for the Arctic Ocean.

This blackline map tool is built on MapMaker, National Geographic’s redesigned online map tool. MapMaker is the perfect tool to introduce geospatial thinking and the power of geographic information systems (GIS). MapMaker contains science and social studies map layers and has related classroom activities using up-to-date real world data.

GEBCO aims to provide the most authoritative, publicly available bathymetry data sets for the world’s oceans. Data sets and products include a global bathymetric grid; gazetteer of undersea feature names, a Web Map Service and printable maps of ocean bathymetry.

The Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC) combines data from North America and Mexico for a continental and regional perspective on environmental issues that cross boundaries. Produced by scientists from Natural Resources Canada, United States Geological Survey, and Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Geografía and other agencies in Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin includes more than 250,000 maps from around the world. Approximately 20% of the collection is currently online.

Available upon request. LANDSAT 4 and LANDSAT 5 satellite imagery (609 images) marketed by Land Info Worldwide Mapping. Images have been orthorectified. The 15 metre band was pan-sharpened with 30 metre multi-spectral bands 7 (mid-infrared light; displayed as red), 4 (near-infrared light; displayed as green) and 2 (visible green light; displayed as blue). Pixel size 28.5 meters.

LANDSAT 7 satellite imagery (882 images) marketed by LandInfo Worldwide Mapping. Multi-spectral bands: 7 (mid-infrared light; displayed as red), 4 (near-infrared light; displayed as green) and 2 (visible green light; displayed as blue). Pixel size 14.25 metres.

Founded in 2006 at the University of Sheffield as a collaborative effort to create a large world maps (called cartograms), where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest. This website is the archive of the original project website with nearly 700 of the first maps. Worldmapper also feature a series of population maps using a novel gridded cartogram approach.

An organized and commented collection of geographical, political and historical maps. The main page is the portal to maps and cartography on Wikimedia and contains links to entries by country, continent and by topic as well as general notes and references. Historical maps are included in the continent, country and dependency entries.

A free collection of world, country and city maps & map tools. Mapsof.net is a site where you can find free maps and map tools for measuring, saving, and sending maps to others. A website that allows visitors to easily and quickly use maps to measure, search, and overlay mark-up elements on maps for a variety of useful applications.

A global location data portfolio, vetted for accuracy by a team of data scientists, demographers, and geographers. Offers quality data variables from authoritative data sources. Ready-to-use datasets include demographics, behavioral and business data, environmental live feeds, places and movement data, high-quality imagery, and frequently updated basemaps.

Created by the National Imagery and Mapping Agency, now the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA). The original World Vector Shoreline (WVS) data were processed into NGA’s Vector Product Format in 1995, resulting in the highest resolution demarcation of coastline globally available, the World Vector Shoreline Plus.

When permitted by data providers, data featured on GFW are available for download. You can access downloadable versions of spatial data layers from several places on the website – the dashboards, map and Open Data Portal – as well as statistics based on the data.

The charts depict the types of data that would be useful for pilots, including topography, the locations of major cities, transportation routes, and other ground features that would be visible from the air. These charts are provided primarily to be used as low-resolution topographic maps. The georeferenced maps show relief with contours (250-500ft intervals) and with hypsometric shading.

An intergovernmental knowledge and learning centre working on behalf of the people of the Hindu Kush Himalaya (HKH). ICIMOD is based in Kathmandu, Nepal and work in and for eight regional member countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan.

Shapefiles showing boundaries for years: 2000 BC, 1000 BC, 500 BC, 323 BC, 200 BC, 1 BC, AD 400, AD 600, AD 800, AD 1000, AD 1279, AD 1492, AD 1530, AD 1650, AD 1715, AD 1783, AD 1815, AD 1880, AD 1914, AD 1920, AD 1938, AD 1945, AD 1994. Attribute data are lacking.

There are two versions of the dataset, which are based on the Gleditsch and Ward (1999) or the Correlates of War coding of independent states. Border changes were coded based on the Territorial Change Dataset by Tir et al (1998), the Encyclopedia of International Boundaries by Biger (1995) and the Encyclopedia of African Boundaries by Brownlie (1979).

Mapping of the administrative areas of all countries, at all levels of sub-division. A high spatial resolution and of a extensive set of attributes is applied. Data can be downloaded by country or globally.

Provides worldwide coverage of vector-based geospatial data which can be viewed at 1:1,000,000 scale. It consists of geographic, attribute, and textual data. Organized into 10 thematic layers. Top level thematic layers: Boundaries, elevation, hydrography, industry, physiography, population, transportation, utilities and vegetation. There are various layers underneath each top level category.

A public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. Featuring tightly integrated vector and raster data and the ability to construct a variety of maps with cartography or GIS software.

A geographic encyclopedia. Search by place name, phrase, or the full text of Gazetteer articles. Advanced search options include type of place, state or province, country, continent, population, or geographic coordinates. Download search results metadata to spreadsheet or XML files.

A free computer program for mapping and geographic data analysis (GIS). Make maps of the world, or of a very small area, using, for example, state boundaries, rivers, a satellite image, and the locations of sites where an animal species was observed. Provides free spatial data for the whole world that you can use in DIVA-GIS or other programs.

Downloadable outline maps. Search by: World and oceans, Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Mediterranean sea, Oceania, and Historical maps.

Search over 4,000 data sets, services and maps. Topics: Geoscientific information, environment, farming, climate, meteorology, atmosphere, imagery base maps earth cover, society, boundaries, economy, biodata, inland waters, health, transportation, elevation, location, utilities communication, planning cadastre, structure, oceans, administrative units, and land use land cover.

Previously: The Database of Global Administrative Areas (DIP 2019.07.17) and national borders from 1886 to 2019

Features access to millions of records, unique search tools, and opportunities for researchers to connect with others who share similar interests. Resources include the Discussion Group, Family Finder, and ViewMate. JewishGen's informational, educational and historical offerings include the Jewish Communities Database, Yizkor Book translations, InfoFiles, and KehilaLinks.

The CEOS (Committee on Earth Observation Sciences) International Directory Network (IDN) is a gateway to global Earth Science data. The CEOS IDN is an international effort developed to assist researchers in locating information on available datasets. The directory is sponsored as a service to the Earth science community.

RMSI specializes in geospatial and engineering solutions and provides image processing services to create and update geographic datasets. These range from land use planning, utility planning, urban and rural infrastructure planning using high resolution imagery to forest mapping, watershed management, natural resource mapping, and mineral mapping using low resolution imagery.

UNOSAT is home to an centre for satellite imagery and data analysis. The UMG provides geospatial services to organizations across the United Nations system and international community. Services include: Imagery Searching, Selection, and Acquisition, Image Digitizing, Image Analysis, Cartographic Production, Report Production, Service Publishing and Web Map Production.

World Regional and Countries Maps including: Map of the World, World Road Maps, World Physical Maps, Continental Maps, Maps of all Countries, Road Maps of all Countries, Flags of all Countries, Countries Briefs and Information.

OldMapsOnline began as a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth, UK. Approximately 400,000 maps belonging to archives and libraries that have shared their geospatial data through this platform are currently available.

A compilation of topographic data for Antarctica to 60°S. Visit the Antarctic Digital Database map viewer to visualise the available data. Data can be downloaded through the data catalogue in Geopackage or Shapefile format. Datasets include: Coastline, including grounding lines and ice shelf fronts, Rock outcrop, Contours, Lakes, Moraine, Streams, Seamask, and ADD data limit at 60°S.

The HWSD is a 30 arc-second raster database with over 16000 different soil mapping units that combines existing regional and national updates of soil information worldwide (SOTER, ESD, Soil Map of China, WISE) with the information contained within the 1:5 000 000 scale FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World (FAO, 19711981).

The thematic centre for soil related data in Europe. Its ambition is to be the single reference point for and to host all relevant soil data and information at European level. Resources include: datasets, services/applications, maps, documents, events, projects and external links.

A selected list of climate-related resources found in the Queen's University Library Government Information collection and on the Web. Includes local (Kingston, Ontario), national, global, and other resources (including solar radiation).