HIST 282: Gender in North American History, 1000-1880

A view of women coming to Quebec in 1667, in order to be married to the French Canadian farmers. Waterercolor by Eleanor Fortescue Brickdale, 1871-1945. Courtesy of Library and Archives Canada, Acc. no 1996-371-1.

This guide will help you begin your research in this course. It includes information on how to find books, journal articles, background information and provides links to web sites and other resources that might be useful to your research. 

What is Omni?

Omni is the library search tool used to find items in Queen's Libraries and our partner libraries, as well to access articles and other electronic resources.

When should I search Omni?

• You are starting your research and want to assess the resources available on your topic
• You want to find resources in a variety of formats (i.e. books and articles)
• You are searching for articles on an interdisciplinary topic, where information could be found in various databases
• You are looking for an exact known item
• A comprehensive article search is not required

When should I search specific databases?

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included. If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Omni is one part of a complete search.  To search beyond the holding of QUL and the OMNI Libraries, you can use WorldCat.

Detailed information about how to search Omni is available in the Omni Search Tips guide.

For an overview of Omni, check this guide.