Garon's Artificial Intelligence Law and Regulation in a Nutshell
by
Artificial Intelligence Law and Regulation in a Nutshell explores the law, technology, and emerging regulations for artificial intelligence, including its application to all AI systems such as predictive analytics, autonomous vehicles, and generative AI. It offers a nontechnical summary of AI models and the application of AI systems to healthcare, product design, robotics, creative arts, and the legal profession. The Nutshell then explains the intersection between AI and various legal fields, covering such topics as intellectual property, defamation, equal protection, state privacy biometric laws, products liability, HIPAA, GLBA, contracts, laws regulating armed conflict, and more. In addition to the focus on specific legal fields, chapters also explore how business organizations should develop and implement AI strategies, both for AI developers that are building new AI models and for AI deployers that are licensing models created by others. The Nutshell provides a single, comprehensive guide covering the essential considerations for AI regulatory policy and the steps necessary for enterprises to implement safe, reliable, and trustworthy AI systems.
International Human Rights in a Nutshell
by
An updated and expanded edition of the widely used overview of international human rights law for students, practitioners, and professors. Provides a comprehensive overview of the international, regional and domestic human rights systems, as well as the treatment of human rights treaties and norms within the U.S. legal system. Reviews recent developments in the field, including in the UN, European, OAS and African human rights systems, as well as the adoption of new conventions and the issuance of key new judicial decisions. Introduces the history behind international human rights, including the institutional context from which they evolved. An unparalleled resource for beginning students as well as more experienced practitioners needing an accessible introduction to an increasingly important substantive field.
Race, Racism, and International Law
by
What would it look like to place race at the center of international legal scholarship? From its inception in the 70s and 80s, critical race theory's target was the field of law, revealing it to be a repository for racial power. This particular critique of law was explosive because of law's putatively apolitical status, making it a unique site for an intellectual sit-in that has forever changed the way that race and racism are understood in American society. Several decades later, as indicators of populism and white nationalism spread across North America and Europe, critical race theory remains markedly absent from discourses in global affairs and international law. This volume opens the door for CRT to enter the international sphere. Featuring contributions from 30 of today's leading scholars from around the world, Race, Racism, and International Law explains how the concept of racial difference sits at the foundation of the legal, political, and social structures of hierarchy that shape the contemporary global order. Helmed by four pioneering experts, two in CRT and two in international law, the volume's approach targets regimes of power and violence that implicate racism, capitalism, and colonialism. This volume lays the groundwork for urgent and provocative new modes of critique and analysis.
Multispecies Legality
by
Animals are unfortunately an afterthought in legal systems that have been developed to adjudicate the claims of humans and corporate entities. For those of us determined to extend the scope of justice to include animals, we must ask how to reshape our legal institutions to ensure that animal interests are considered alongside those of other, existing legal subjects. In this groundbreaking work, Serrin Rutledge-Prior departs from those who have proposed to extend legal personhood to animals, which in practice has proven to be exclusionary and inconsistently applied by the courts. Instead, Rutledge-Prior offers a new principle to ground legal inclusion based on a principle of multispecies legality that extends legal subjecthood to anyone - human or nonhuman - who possess interests.
A Guide to the Youth Criminal Justice Act, 2025/2026 Edition
by
his concise guide to the Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA) provides an overview of the youth criminal justice system in Canada, section-by-section commentary on legal and operational implications and captures key recent developments.
Exploring the rights of climate displaced persons
by
This book addresses how to more effectively use law, human rights and institutional reforms to resolve the many challenges posed by climate displacement. The book addresses issues such as: Why all governments need to establish a national climate displacement ministry to implement relevant laws; how to improve land law and policy to assist climate-displaced persons and communities; how to litigate better on climate displacement issues.
The Secret Life of Copyright
by
In The Secret Life of Copyright, copyright law meets Black Lives Matter and #MeToo as the book examines how copyright law unexpectedly perpetuates inequalities along racial, gender, and socioeconomic lines while undermining progress in the arts. Drawing on numerous case studies, the book argues that, despite their purported neutrality, key doctrines governing copyrights-such as authorship, derivative rights, fair use, and immunity from First Amendment scrutiny-systematically disadvantage individuals from traditionally marginalized communities. The work advocates for a more robust copyright system that better addresses egalitarian concerns and serves the interests of creativity. Given that laws regulating the use of creative content increasingly mediate participation and privilege in the digital world, The Secret Life of Copyright provides a template for a more just and equitable copyright system.
How to succeed (and stay human) in law school : pathways to happiness and high performance in the study and practice of law
by
"A short handbook for students explaining the connection between personal wellness and law school success, from the creator of the popular University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law course “Happiness and the Law”.
Rights in Criminal Law
by
This open access collection of 17 original essays is the first volume to provide an in-depth exploration of the potential of a rights-based approach to criminal law. The book presents a comprehensive treatment of the role of rights in criminal law, ranging from a conceptual analysis and questions of justified criminalisation, to specific legal implications for substantive criminal law and criminal procedure. The collection addresses the academic and practical questions that are related to individual entitlements protected by criminal law, including: - Who currently holds and who should hold a right not to be wronged by others? - Is it a violation of individual rights, rather than the infliction of harm, that constitutes a reason for criminalisation? - Does the idea of criminal law as regulating interpersonal legal relations contradict its public character? Furthermore, the collection provides a theoretical framework for the study of consent and sexual offences, investigates the background of ideas of restorative justice, and explores both the victim's and the offender's rights in prosecution and trial. The ebook editions of this book are available open access under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence on bloomsburycollections.com.
Fairness in International Taxation
by
This book explores the thorny normative issues raised by the changing landscape of international tax policy. Proposals for taxation of the digital economy and the OECD/G20 BEPS framework promise fundamental changes in the international tax system. The book features perspectives from legal scholars, political theorists, and political philosophers on international corporate and individual taxation. Contributors advance new theories of international tax justice, develop theoretically informed reform proposals and critique influential approaches to international tax reform. Key themes include justice in bilateral and multilateral international tax agreements, the taxation of cross-border workers, fair division of tax revenue from multinational corporations, and the fairness of the international tax policy-making process. This book provides new perspectives on leading international tax policy debates, analyses the intersection between international distributive justice and contemporary tax policy, and proposes innovative ways to meet the demands of tax justice in a global context.
Consociational Federalism
by
This work focuses on constitutional amendments in divided societies. It analyzes and compares the ways in which constitutional amendment procedures are organized in states with significant linguistic, national or cultural cleavages. To explore this issue, we mobilize the theoretical framework of consociational federalism. The latter is a particular form of federalism that takes shape in accordance with the teachings and values of consociationalism (or consociational democracy). Consociational federalism is particularly relevant to study constitutional amendment procedures in divided societies, since it recommends a set of institutional arrangements and normative proposals designed to facilitate the achievement and maintenance of political stability in states marked by significant cleavages. Using a comparative approach, we study the constitutional amendment procedures in place in Belgium, Canada and Switzerland, while drawing on a number of other systems
How to Win: the Future of Law with Artificial Intelligence
by
We are living in a legal renaissance. Lawyers have never been more empowered to reimagine their profession thanks to AI. This title answers questions such as 'Will AI be better than me at my job?', 'Why do I need to start using AI?' and 'How will AI enhance my capability as a legal professional?' by providing advice on how lawyers and law firms can integrate new technology and improve their legal practice. The title further explains how to make interactions between lawyers and clients a win-win for all parties involved, while increasing client retention and profit for the firm. This book is written by a lawyer, for other lawyers, minus the legalese. It is based on the author's personal observations of the legal industry and interviews with her colleagues across various practice areas and all levels of seniority. It aims to bring forward ideas for improvement. Using examples from the UK, EU and the US across corporate law, contract law, mergers and acquisitions and litigation, this title is relevant to lawyers in private practice specialising in all areas of the law. Are you a practising lawyer at a law firm? Do you sometimes feel like the legal industry is held back by tradition and could use some shaking up? Perhaps you are a mover and shaker yourself. In any case, this book is for you if you are curious about possibilities to improve the legal industry. The book also includes a list of AI tools that are beneficial in legal work. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Cyber Law online service.
Beyond Restitution
by
This open access book offers a unique perspective on the return of cultural objects by considering the aftermath of the handover processes. While calls for the repatriation of heritage have been made since the start of the decolonisation process, it is only in recent years that the debate on returning cultural objects has gained widespread prominence. This has been followed by ongoing efforts from several countries to change the legislation, adopt principles, and invest in provenance research to turn repatriation into a more proactive mechanism. The book tells the story of cultural objects that were housed in European institutions and returned to countries in Africa, Asia, and the Americas. In addition to in-depth analysis of relevant laws and policies, each of the case studies integrates interviews with those who were directly involved in those return processes, as well as those who were impacted by them, including museum staff, government representatives and community members. The book presents previously unheard insights into past return processes, the manifold modalities that such processes have followed, and, at times, unexpected outcomes. By doing so, it offers possible lessons to be learnt for future returns. The ebook editions of this book are available open access under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence on bloomsburycollections.com. Open access was funded by the Leverhulme Trust.
Upholding Sacred Obligations Reparations for Missing and Disappeared Indigenous Children and Unmarked Burials in Canada
by
Two volumes.
Volume 1: Preface -- Introduction -- Part One: Activating and Enforcing International Obligations -- Chapter 1: Creating an Indigenous-Led Reparations Framework -- Chapter 2: The Enforced Disappearances of Children and Crimes Against Humanity -- Chapter 3: Unmarked Burials and Mass Graves -- Chapter 4: Experimentation and Other Atrocities Against Indigenous Children -- Chapter 5: Settler Amnesty and the Culture of Impunity in Canada -- Part Two: Implementing Indigenous Laws and Decolonizing the Canadian Legal Framework -- Chapter 6: Upholding Indigenous Laws -- Chapter 7: The Lack of Legal Protection for Indigenous Burial Sites under Canadian Law -- Chapter 8: Death and Legal Investigations: A History of Failures.
Volume 2: Part Three: Finding Truth, Rematriating Lands, and Repatriating the Children -- Chapter 9: Decolonizing Archives and Affirming Indigenous Data Sovereignty -- Chapter 10: Searching Sites of Truth -- Chapter 11: Rematriating Lands -- Chapter 12: Repatriating Children -- Part Four: Supporting Indigenous-Led Healing and State Repatriations -- Chapter 14: Pursuing Accountability and Justice Through Apology -- Chapter 15: Fighting Denialism: Reframing Collective Memory, National History, and Commemoration -- Chapter 16: Expanding the Circle: Settler Alliance and Solidarity in an Indigenous-Led Reparations Framework -- Conclusion and Obligations: Implementing an Indigenous-Led Reparations Framework for Truth, Accountability, Justice, and Reconciliation.
Sites of truth, sites of conscience : unmarked burials and mass graves of missing and disappeared indigenous children in Canada
by
ntroduction -- Chapter 1: Indian Residential School Cemeteries as Sites of Truth and Conscience -- Chapter 2: Tracing the Missing and Disappeared Children: Good Shepherd Homes -- Chapter 3: Tracing the Missing and Disappeared Children across Institutions -- Appendix A: Select Indian Residential School Cemeteries and Burial Grounds -- Appendix B: Good Shepherd Homes -- Appendix C: Provincial and Private Institutions for Children Who Were Deaf of Hard of Hearing.
Executive summary : final report on the missing and disappeared indigenous children and unmarked burials in Canada
by
Preface -- Introduction -- Sites of Truth, Sites of Conscience: Unmarked Burials and Mass Graces of Missing and Disappeared Indigenous Children in Canada -- Upholding Sacred Obligations: Reparations for Missing and Disappeared Indigenous Children and Unmarked Burials in Canada -- Conclusion and Obligations: Implementing an Indigenous-Led Reparations Framework for Truth, Accountability, Justice, and Reconcilliation.
Violence Against Women and Regimes of Exception
by
Violence against Women and Regimes of Exception provides a wide-ranging examination of how migration law discriminates against women, heightening their risk of being subjected to violence and intensifying their experiences of it. Catherine Briddick identifies patterns of disadvantage, scrutinizes justifications for differential treatment, and delineates legal obligations relating to violence against women.Structured around the legal challenges that migrant women have brought to the regimes determining their status, this book reveals the devastating impact of flawed rules that increase vulnerability to violence, deny effective protection, and render victims at risk of destitution, detention, and deportation. Integrating doctrinal, empirical, and theoretical material, it explores the difference that migration status makes to an experience of violence, investigates where existing regimes fall short, and establishes how the resulting compounded disadvantage should be remedied.The analysis begins in the UK and with the European Convention on Human Rights, broadening to connect with European Union law and the Council of Europe's Trafficking and Istanbul Conventions. This approach provides valuable insights into the role and ability of national courts, the European Court of Human Rights, and the Court of Justice of the European Union to scrutinize different forms of discriminatory treatment. By bringing together distinct responses to violence experienced in the context of migration control, the book outlines a new framework for their evaluation and determines how rights and protection could better be secured.A groundbreaking work that centres the experiences of those marginalized by migration law, this is essential reading for anyone interested in the intersection of violence, gender, and migration.
