Skip to Main Content

BLCK 480: Black Death in the Decade of Black Human Rights

Finding Articles: Omni

Omni, the academic search tool at Queen's Library,  includes content from the various research databases to which Queen's Library subscribes but not everything is included. If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results. Suggested databases are in the next section below. 

Detailed information about how to search Omni is available in the Omni Search Tips guide.

To find additional databases, see the library's database page.

Databases

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.

Gender Studies Database
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues and sexual diversity.

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Includes periodicals by Black Power advocates.

International Index to Black Periodicals (in Black Studies Center)
Included in the Black Studies Center database, IIBP contains approximately 280,000 records drawn from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of over 130 core Black Studies periodicals.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociological topics within such fields as anthropology, communications, crime, economics, education, community development, public policy, political studies, religion and social psychology.

Academic Search Complete
One of the largest multidisciplinary article indexes. Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.

Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly peer-reviewed academic journals, as well as newspaper and audio material, including podcasts and news transcripts.

JSTOR‚Äč 
Covers a large range of subject areas including African Studies and African American Studies. In the Advanced Search users can limit to search only African-American and African Studies journals.

Project MUSE
A joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Can limit your search results to Area and Ethnic Studies

Types of Articles

Consult the guide Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals to learn about scholarly or peer reviewed articles

To restrict your search results to scholarly journal articles, look for this "limiter" in the database you are searching.

If your assignment permits non-scholarly sources (for example, recent articles from magazines such as Maclean's and newspapers such as the New York Times) consider using either a newspaper database such as the ones listed in the Newspaper Articles section of this guide.