VisualDxVisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. With a strong dermatology component, this application can help quickly build a differential to evaluate the possibilities, compare variations, and improve diagnostic accuracy. Its vast medical image library includes many skin types, and pigments effectively providing access to clinical information and images at the point of care, on any device - mobile, tablet, or desktop. Images may be used in course management systems.
AccessMedicineProvides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and includes the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
Brown Skin MattersBrown Skin Matters was initiated in 2018 by Ellen Buchanan Weiss. Her son was an infant when she noticed how few pediatric reference sites included photos that looked like him. Additional research made clear how severe the deficit was, and she felt driven to help address it. The project has been discussed in major news media such as National Public Radio, the BBC, the New York Times, and the Lancet. Ellen hopes that someday she can release her son into a world prepared to provide him with the dignified, informed medical care that all of us should be able to expect.
iPortal: Indigenous Studies PortalThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal), an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library, is a database of full-text electronic resources including articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Note: Not all materials are freely available. Some resources are licensed but may still be available to you through Queen's Library. There will be a Get It @ Queen's button on these items.
Seeks to improve the credibility and visibility of research journals from developing countries. Includes African Journals Online, Vietnamese Journals Online, Sri Lanka Journals Online and more.
Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health DisparitiesJournal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities reports on the scholarly progress of work to understand, address, and ultimately eliminate health disparities based on race and ethnicity. Efforts to explore underlying causes of health disparities and to describe interventions that have been undertaken to address racial and ethnic health disparities are featured.
The Journal of Teaching on Learning Resources Anti-racism in Medicine CollectionAs a journal of health professions educational resources, it is our responsibility to name racism as a barrier to equity and to work toward dismantling systems of oppression within our profession through training and education. The Anti-racism in Medicine Collection within MedEdPORTAL provides educators with practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills, elevates the educational scholarship of anti-racist curricula, and aims to convene a community of collaborators dedicated to the elimination of racism within medical education.
The Lancet eClinical Medicine Racial Inequity in Health - Part 1Clinical research focusing on the specific needs of racial minorities, their health outcomes and disparities has the potential to significantly improve lives in our societies. The eClinicalMedicine Racial Inequity in Health Collection outlines and discusses racial and ethnic inequality across global settings.
The Lancet eClinical Medicine Racial Inequity in Health - Part 2Health-care systems worldwide are fraught with inequalities that have a disproportionate impact on minoritised ethnic and racial groups. Furthermore, research focusing on health outcomes of racial minorities is lacking. eClinicalMedicine has published the second instalment of a two-part Collection entitled “Racial Inequity in Health” outlining and discussing racial and ethnic inequality across global settings.
NEJM Race and Medicine CollectionThe Race and Medicine collection reflects NEJM’s commitment to understanding and combating racism as a public health and human rights crisis. Our commitment to antiracism includes efforts to educate the medical community about systemic racism, to support physicians and aspiring physicians who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color, and ultimately to improve the care and lives of patients who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color.
