Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.
If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.
Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to clothing history.
Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on 
.
If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find it.
If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.
Locating Articles
Articles written on costume and fashion history can be found in the following journal indexes.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA continues BHA)
There are few journals that specialize in costume history. Titles include:
Costume: the Journal of the Costume Society (London)
Dress the Journal of the Costume Society of America
Fashion Theory
Journal of the American Institute for Conservation
A journal about museum conservation but includes articles about dress, textiles...
Textile History
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference between scholarly, trade and popular periodicals.
Once you’re in Omni:
• Select "Journal Search" from the top menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press 
Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdings and or the years covered online.