LLCU 295. Special Topics: Sport and Global Relations

Finding background information in a specialized reference work at the beginning of your research is especially important if you are unfamiliar with the subject area, need to focus or narrow your topic or are not sure from what angle to approach your research.

Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks can provide:

• Background information on a topic;
• Broad overview of the subject;
• Names of people who are authorities in the subject field;
• Bibliographies that lead to additional resources; and
• Main concepts or keywords that describe your topic.

Some examples include:

• A Dictionary of Sports Studies
• Palgrave Handbook of Globalization and Sport
• Oxford Handbook of Global Studies
• Oxford Handbook of Sport History
• Routledge Handbook of Mega-Sporting Events and Human Rights

Wikipedia entries are:

• Written and edited by anyone who has a view on the topic.
• Works in progress. 
• As with other encyclopedia reference sources, Wikipedia may be useful for providing an overview of a topic.

Wikipedia is not considered a reliable source.

• Entries vary in quality and comprehensiveness.
• Although not often, an entry may be in a “vandalized state” meaning accurate information is being deleted or false information is added.
• Entries may be biased.

Wikipedia entries usually contain a reference list with links to cited works. Depending on the topic you will find a variety of scholarly, popular, and primary resources that may be useful for finding additional sources.