Finding background information at the beginning of your research is especially important if you are unfamiliar with the subject area, or not sure from what angle to approach your topic. It could also direct you to more sources about your topic.
Background information sources (selected):
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Online access to five-volume encyclopedia offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts.
-
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
The encyclopedia is designed to provide reference material and an introduction to historical and contemporary race and crime topics.
-
African Studies (From Oxford Bibliographies)
-
African American Studies (From Oxford Bibliographies)
-
Research Methods in Human Rights: A Handbook
Current discussions on human rights research methodology. This handbook brings together an array of leading scholars to offer instruction and guidance on different approaches to the subject area.
Reference Platforms:
Oxford Bibliographies
Web-based compendium of peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries maintained by Oxford University Press.
Sage Reference Online
A collection of online encyclopedias and reference books covering a variety of subject areas, including history and the social sciences.
Oxford Reference Online
A large, comprehensive resource covering the complete subject spectrum. It contains full-text dictionaries, companions and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.
