Omni, the academic search tool at Queen's Library is a great starting point for your research. It includes content from the various research databases to which Queen's Library subscribes. However, not everything is included in Omni. If you are looking for information on a specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough and relevant results. Suggested databases are in the next section below.
Detailed information about how to search Omni is available in the Omni Search Tips guide.
To explore additional databases (beyond those listed below), see the full list of the library's databases.
To explore/search the journals to which Queen's Library subscribes, go to Journal Search.
Academic Search Complete
One of the largest multidisciplinary article indexes. Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics. Tip: Select the "Academic Journal" under the "Publication Type" filter for peer-reviewed/scholarly articles.
JSTOR
An archival collection of scholarly journals mainly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Subject coverage includes: African American Studies, African Studies, Cultural Studies, Feminist & Women's Studies, and more. Use the filters to narrow your search to one or more subject areas.
Project Muse
A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, fine arts, social sciences and mathematics.
Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index. (Tip: For scholarly articles, select "Peer reviewed" below the search bar)
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociological topics within such fields as anthropology, communications, crime, economics, education, community development, public policy, political studies, religion and social psychology.
Gender Studies Database
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues and sexual diversity.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.