Clinical Trials

Medline (via Ovid) is a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, allied health and preclinical sciences. It contains more than 26 million references from over 6.500 worldwide journals.

Medline (via PubMed) is a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, allied health and preclinical sciences. It contains more than 26 million references from over 6,500 worldwide journals.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature indexes over 5,000 journals in the fields of nursing, occupational and physical therapy, social work, and other allied health disciplines.

Medical database covering a wide range of journals in the biomedical sciences. Particularly useful for locating drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE. Embase contains more than 30 million references from over 8,500 worldwide journals.

TRIP was created in 1997 to bring together all the evidence-based healthcare resources available on the Internet. TRIP Plus was created in April 2003; this greatly enhanced version includes coverage of peer-reviewed journals, medical images and patient information leaflets, and is updated monthly.

This large, multidisciplinary database provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.

Collection of high-quality, independent evidence databases to inform healthcare decision-making at all levels. Includes systematic reviews

This database allows you to search simultaneously a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

PubMed Health is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials and specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question "What works?" in medical and health care.

Wildridge, V., & Bell, L. (2002). Health Information & Libraries Journal, 19, 113-115. doi: 10.1046/j.1471-1842.2002.00378.x

Not all sources on the Web are equally valuable or reliable. Individual sites are not screened or standardized in any way to determine if the information they provide is accurate or useful. Critically evaluating the information you find is central to successful academic research.