Skip to Main Content

COMM 332 Marketing Research

Products, Sectors and Companies

Articles in the business literature about companies and industry trends are a good place to start your research and can help with identifying companies, products and services. 

ABI / INFORM Global  and/or  Business Source Premier

These comprehensive, full-text business databases include company, brand and product news, sales and market share numbers, SWOT analyses and market research reports. Sources include trade magazines, academic research and newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal.
 
Covers specific sectors, including telecommunications, consumer electronics, energy, chemicals, transportation, construction and many others.
 
Major Canadian daily newspapers from across the country. Includes the Globe’s Report on Business and the National Post’s Financial Post. Content updated daily.

 

Factiva‚Äč
Current international news and business information. Includes news wires and industry magazines, company reports, and market data. Contains same-day and archival coverage of key newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Wall Street Journal and Financial Times (London). Coverage varies by publication.

 
instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.

Search tips

Start your search with key words and phrases including: 
  •      a product description
  •       brand name(s)
  •       company name(s)
  •       industry sector description or keywords
  •       key words from an organization's website - mission, goals, 'what we do'
Brainstorm with your team.
 
Make a quick list of synonyms, other terms or phrases to express the same concepts, or the opposing concepts.
 
As you search, note which search terms work, which don’t and add to your list as you scan the search results.