Skip to Main Content

DEVS 220: Introduction to Indigenous Studies (Online)

Indigenous News Sources

APTN News
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) is a Canadian television network that provides programming made by, for and about aboriginal peoples and issues.

Espaces Autochtones
A Radio-Canada site to unveil, explain and understand indigenous realities.

IndigiNews
Created in partnership through a partnership between Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) and The Discourse, IndigiNews currently covers the Okanagan Valley and Vancouver Island.

Kukukwes.com
Independent news website that covers indigenous news from Atlantic Canada.

Muskrat Magazine
An on-line Indigenous arts, culture, and living magazine that honours the connection between humans and indigenous traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary.

Nunatsiaq News
Weekly newspaper published since 1973 that serves Nunavut and the Nunavik region of northern Quebec.  For additional Inuit media sources see Caninuit, a list of newspapers and newsletters compiled by Trent University.

Turtle Island News
Weekly newspaper published at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.

Wawatay News
Ontario's First Nation Voice since 1974.  Wawatay Native Communications Society serves the communication needs of First Nations people and communities of Nishnawbe Aski Nation through the distribution of a monthly newspaper, daily radio programming, television production services and a multimedia website that seeks to preserve and enhance indigenous languages and cultures of Aboriginal people in northern Ontario.

Windspeaker
Windspeaker, established in 1974, is Canada's most widely circulated Indigenous news publication and the most effective means of reaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit readers.

Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) is a current and historical resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.   Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.

 

 

Other news sites

Canadian Newsstream

Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format.

PressReader

Access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.   More than 2,000 U.S., Canadian and international paper from 100 countries in 56 languages.