The journal indexes below will help you to discover scholarly journal articles about your chosen research question. Many of the articles found in these indexes will be peer-reviewed scholarly articles but some may not - consult the "Evaluate Articles" section to the right on this page for clues on how to tell the difference. Students sometimes find this challenging so if you are unsure about a particular journal article please ask!
Note also that you can search Omni, the library's discovery system, for journal articles. Be especially careful to evaluate what you find as the information in Omni comes from many different sources.
The Politics Collection provides access to databases such as the PAIS Index and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think tank reports, working papers, government documents, and more, including full text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
SportDiscus
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of sports including the sociology, economics and development issues related to sports.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. The database indexes scholarly, popular, and internet publications.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A multi-disciplinary database for all aspects of research relating to North America's indigenous peoples.
Social Sciences Citation Index
An index to major journals in the social sciences, including demography, cultural, economic, historical and human geography, planning and environmental studies.
Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials.
Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on 
.
If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title..
If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.