All four seminar topics are very broad. As part of your research, you will need to determine what aspects of your topic to focus on. For example, "gold mining" could be narrowed to sub-topics such as geology, mining methods, environmental effects, policy, effects on communities, business practices, or commodity pricing. Keep in mind that not all information is in journal articles. Government information, statistics, news items, reports, business articles, maps and organizational websites will be valuable sources of information.
So, for each seminar topic, examples of different databases, groups and other resources have been provided to give you some starting points. These lists are not comprehensive: there are other resources available. For assistance with finding other resources, contact your subject librarian.
Publication coverage: Geology of North America: 1693 - present; Geology worldwide: 1933 - present. Access to over 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
GEOBASE consists of the latest information on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences, focusing on, and highlighting, the human and social impacts on both.
It covers 3+ million abstract records, providing a comprehensive geological evaluation of any desired region. This includes geological structure and relation to natural resources, as well as linking management, transport, and urban planning.
Publication coverage: Varies by title. 1940s to present.
Deep coverage of environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Publication coverage: 1886 - present
Indexes the international literature in the field of economics. Includes coverage of journals, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, conferences and working papers.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary index (with abstracts) to more than 10,900 publications including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports. Publication coverage: 1865 - present
GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. It offers indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and open access full text for nearly 13,000 records.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.
Subject coverage: All areas of life science, including such topics as: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.
Covers sociological topics within such fields as anthropology, communications, counselling, crime, economics, education, ethics, medicine, community development, philosophy, public policy, political science, religion, social psychology and welfare. Coverage includes journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and reviews.