Skip to Main Content

Resources for Geosciences Graduate Students

Search OMNI

Search the library catalogue, OMNI, for print and online books.  Examples of book series:

Decade of North America Geology Project (Engineering and Science Library, level 1, call number QE71 .G48)

Geological Society of America Special Papers (1934 - present)

The Lyell Collection contains the Memoirs, Special Publications and Engineering Geology Special Publications of the Geological Society of London.

 

OMNI

Omni is the search tool that replaced QCAT and Summon.  Use it to find books, videos, journals or newspapers at Queen's or beyond.

Check the Omni Search Guide and FAQ for more information.

Scanning Service for Print Collections

Please note that you can now request a scanned chapter of a print book. 

From the library's COVID updates page:

"A new library scanning service is available to all current Queen’s students, faculty, and staff.

Use the Request for Scan feature in the Omni search tool for a single book chapter or journal article or similar fair dealing amount, subject to copyright. You must be logged in to Omni using your NetID, and will be notified by email when the scan is available for download for a 30 day period. Eligible collections initially include all regular (i.e. “open stacks”), limited (2-week loan) circulating print materials, and non-circulating materials (i.e. Art non-circ, reference, microforms). We expect to evolve this service over time to include other physical materials.

Please see our scanning request instructions on how to complete these requests.

For materials held in the W. D. Jordan Rare Books and Special Collections, users can search Omni and request scans by contacting jordan.library@queensu.ca. For materials held in the University Archives, users can search archival holdings through the AtoM (Archives) Database and request scans from the University Archives by contacting archives@queensu.ca. This service is subject to copyright and other considerations such as the amount, type, and fragility of the materials. Recognizing that archival and special collections often require in-person consultation to conduct research, the library continues to follow university, provincial, and public health guidance as we strive to provide access to these locations by appointment in the future.

Important note: Items available electronically through HathiTrust's Emergency Temporary Access Service are not eligible for the library's scanning service, as per the agreement terms with HathiTrust."

Ebook Collections

An excellent resource for ebooks on a variety of topics.