Skip to Main Content

Resources for Geosciences Graduate Students

Geological Survey Publications

Check country and provincial/state geological survey websites for reports, articles, data and maps.  For example:

Journal Abbreviations

Depending on a citation style, journal titles may be abbreviated.  Find a journal's full title and abbreviation. (From the Woodward Library, University of British Columbia.)

Finding Articles

Besides using Google Scholar, select relevant library databases for your information searches.  These databases have advanced filtering systems that allow you to make your searches more efficient.

Queen's Library subscribes to over 700 databases.  To ensure that you are using the best databases for your topic, please consult with your subject librarian.  Below is a list of databases relevant to the Geosciences. 

These databases may index more than primary journal articles - they may have review articles, reports, maps, conference proceedings, dissertations or new items.  Keep in mind that publications may or may not be peer-reviewed.  To be certain, look up the publication title in Ulrichsweb for more information.

Google Scholar

Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. 

GS is particularly useful if you already have the title of an article and want to look it up quickly.

Searching Google Scholar through a Queen's NetID Login enables the Get It @ Queen's service (which links citations in Google Scholar to the full text of articles contained in Queen's subscriptions as well as to the library catalogue).

Google Scholar Search  

Databases and Repositories

Ei Compendex is the world's most comprehensive engineering literature database.

As of 2016, it contained more than 20 million references dating back to 1884. Compendex currently indexes more than 4,000 journals and trade magazines, dozens of book series, thousands of conference proceedings, dissertations and theses. More than one million new records are added each year. Each record is indexed using terms from the Engineering Index Thesaurus.

GEOSCAN Database Canadian resource
Comprises more than 45 000 records of publications released by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors.  (more info)
 

What is a technical report?

  • Technical reports describe the progress or results of scientific or technical research.
  • Usually issued in numbered series by government agencies (watch for changing agency names), university departments or corporations.
  • Found in print, online, or in microform - search Omni.  Ask library staff for assistance if you need microfiche or microfilm.
  • Found online in various repositories.  These reports may NOT be indexed by Google – you need to search each repository’s site.  E.g. NRC’s Publications Archive
  • May be “unpublished”.  For example,

Williams, D.A. and Trotter, RJ., 1984. Preliminary hydrogeological investigation of Prince Edward County: Phase I. Geology. Prince Edward Conservation Authority, unpublished.

The PECA was subsumed by Quinte Conservation.  QC was contacted directly to see if they had a copy (they did).