Skip to main content

GEOL/GEOE 439: Advanced Applied Geophysics

Engineering Village Suite of Databases

Publication coverage: Geology of North America: 1693 - present ; Geology worldwide: 1933 - present
Access to over 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
A comprehensive, international and interdisciplinary database covering physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies. Over 600,000 abstracts of more than 2,000 journals, monographs, books, conference proceedings, reports, and theses.
Publication coverage: 1884 - present (updated weekly)
Primary database for engineering. Includes journals, conference proceedings, and more.
Publication coverage: 1896 - present
Comprehensive coverage physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology.

Google Scholar

Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. 

GS is particularly useful if you already have the title of an article and want to look it up quickly.  Check the "Cite by" feature for each citation for further leads.

Searching Google Scholar through a Queen's NetID Login enables the Get It @ Queen's service (which links citations in Google Scholar to the full text of articles contained in Queen's subscriptions as well as to the library catalogue).

Google Scholar Search

Other Databases/Collections

Publication coverage: 1947 - present
Citations and full text from ACM journals, newsletters and conference proceedings
The arXiv database contains e-prints (working papers) in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Dissertations and Theses @ Queen's
Publication coverage: 1965 - present
            Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses defended at Queen's University. Full-text available for titles published after 1996. Microfiche copies of            Queen's thesis are available in Stauffer library.
 
Comprises more than 45 000 records of publications released by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors.
Comprehensive online resource for research in the geosciences, built on a core compilation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
 
Publication coverage: 1913-
Print holdings: Electrical & Electronics Abstracts 1966 - 2001, TK1 S4
Abstracts and full-text of IEEE Journals, Transactions and Magazines, and Conference Proceedings, Current IEEE Standards. IEE Journals, Conference Proceedings
Lyell Collection
John Lindsley Memorial Endowment
Collection of earth science literature consisting of the Geological Society of London's journals, special publications and book series issued from 1845 to the present.
Publication coverage: 1940-
Mathematical Reviews online. Coverage includes journals, conference proceedings and books.
Scitech Connect
Publication coverage: 1948 - present
Energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
SEG Digital Library
John Lindsley Memorial Endowment
Search the Society of Exploration Geophysicists' journals, meeting abstracts, technical articles and encyclopedia.