Skip to main content

Languages & Linguistics

Article Indexes

Journal articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Alternatively, click on the Journal Search tab in Omni to search by journal title.  You may search in that journal within the Journal Search function. 

Indexes

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary index (with abstracts) to more than 10,900 publications including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports. Approximately 50% of the journal titles also contain the full-text of articles.
 
Print holdings: Full-text of documents on microfiche in the Education Library: 1966 - present
World's largest source of education information, contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. This database is particularly useful for students looking for articles on educational psychology, learning theory and child psychology.
 
Literature & Language (ProQuest)
The databases in this grouping are:
  • British Periodicals
  • CBCA: Reference & Current Events: Literature & Language
  • CBCA Complete: Language & Literature
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
  • FRANCIS
  • Index Islamicus
  • Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
  • PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas)
  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Literature & Language
Modern Languages Association International Bibliography contains citations to scholarly writing on literature, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, national literatures, literary genres, etc.
 
Excellent for psycholinguistics, cognitive science and other aspects of linguistics which overlap interests of psychologists.