Intellectual Property Perspectives on the Regulation of New Technologies explores the challenges that emerging technologies and technology-driven practices pose for traditional notions of intellectual property (IP) law and policy. Authors offer perspectives from across the intellectual property law spectrum and address questions such as: is the law evolving in the right direction?; and is the regulation of emerging technologies supported by sound policy objectives? The resulting discussion exposes the disparate manner in which IP law has responded to challenges posed by innovation and new technologies.
Structured in five parts, the handbook (I) establishes the collection of essays within existing scholarship concerned with law and technology as well as regulatory governance; (II) explores the relationship between technology development by focusing on core concepts and values which technological developments implicate; (III) studies the challenges for law in responding to the emergence of new technologies, examining how legal norms, doctrine and institutions have been shaped, challenged and destabilized by technology, and even how technologies have been shaped by legal regimes; (IV) provides a critical exploration of the implications of technological innovation, examining the ways in which technological innovation has generated challenges for regulators in the governance of technological development, and the implications of employing new technologies as an instrument of regulatory governance; (V) explores various interfaces between law, regulatory governance, and new technologies across a range of key social domains.
Regulating Big Tech condenses the vibrant tech policy debate into a toolkit for the policy maker, legal expert, and academic seeking to address one of the key issues facing democracies today: platform dominance and its impact on society. Contributors explore elements of the toolkit through comprehensive coverage of existing and future policy on data, antitrust, competition, freedom of expression, jurisdiction, fake news, elections, liability, and accountability, while also identifying potential policy impacts on global communication, user rights, public welfare, and economic activity.
Joshua A. T. Fairfield provides a fresh look at law, at what it actually is, how it works, and how we can create the kind of laws that help humans thrive in the face of technological change. He shows that law can keep up with technology because law is a kind of technology - a social technology built by humans out of cooperative fictions like firms, nations, and money. However, to secure the benefits of changing technology for all of us, we need a new kind of law, one that reflects our evolving understanding of how humans use language to cooperate.
What is the nature of the relationship between the fields of new technology and EU law? What challenges do new technologies pose for the internal market and the fundamental principles of the EU?The first part of the collection explores the EU's approach to the regulation of scientific and technological risk, and the link between the regulation of technology and the internal market. In detail, the chapters analyse the interaction between EU law, bioethics and medical and healthtechnologies.The second part of the collection enhances on this, and the chapters scrutinize specific policy areas in order to explain the alternate ways in which EU policy and technology cooperate.
The book provides a critical overview of innovation policy in Europe and a synopsis of the current institutional framework of Europe shaped after the Europe2020 strategy and in view of the upcoming Horizon2020 agenda. The book contains proposals for the future innovation strategy of the EU and a specific analysis of areas such as the unitary patent, the transfer of technology (particularly as far as climate-related technologies and IP markets are concerned), standardization, and the digital agenda.