Legal Research Manual

Written for both practitioners and researchers working in forensic contexts, including investigative interviewers, police officers, lawyers, judges, expert witnesses, and social workers, this book explores a range of issues involved with children's testimony and their ability to provide reliable testimony about experienced or witnessed events, including abuse.

Covering essential academic debates and comparative law methodology, its contextualised approach draws on examples from politics, economics and development studies to provide an original contribution to topics of comparative law.

This book explores different methods and approaches to legal comparison, considering how they are perceived and understood by the reader. The author builds on both analytical and methodological perspectives to provide an insight into the phenomenon of legal pluralism across global legal systems. Chapters introduce a historical perspective to provide readers with the tools for deeper comparative legal research, while also discussing the various methods of comparative law and their usefulness in legal education and research.

The book promotes a deeper appreciation of classical theories and offers new ways to re-orient the study of legal transplants and transnational codes. Methods of Comparative Law brings to bear new thinking on topics including: the mutual relationship between space and law; the plot that structures legal narratives, identities and judicial interpretations; a strategic approach to legal decision making; and the inner potentialities of the 'comparative law and economics' approach to the field. Also in print: K559 .M48 2012 LAW.

This book introduces practical research strategies used in criminal justice to show how a research question can become a policy that changes or influences criminal justice practices.

This book contains original papers that span the philosophical foundations of the use of economics in criminal law, both traditional economic perspectives and behavioral and experimental approaches to the discipline. This handbook provides an opportunity to explore the diversity of contemporary approaches to the economics of crime.

Written for those with little or no background in statistics, Statistical Analysis in Criminal Justice and Criminology uses common statistical tools to analyze crime data. It includes both SPSS and Excel criminal justice data sets to complete end-of-chapter exercises and analyses.

Focusing on qualitative research, chapters explain how to use non-doctrinal methods in environmental law research, including in-depth examples of successful uses. Contributors identify the theoretical and practical challenges facing contemporary environmental law researchers, providing guidance on designing productive research programs. Alongside practical tips, the book examines the scholarly philosophy of environmental law research, determining how and why it differs from other areas of research. It focuses in particular on how to respect scientific principles when moving away from traditional doctrinal research methods.

The interaction between climate change and trade has grown in prominence in recent years. This Research Handbook contains authoritative original contributions from leading experts working at the interface between climate change and trade rules. Regional as well as international perspectives are taken into account to inform the complex questions that arise and redirect research efforts towards newly emerging issues. Also in print: K1005 .R47 2016 LAW.

This handbook provides a theoretically informed analysis of methodological approaches in the discipline, such as constitutional analysis, rights-based approaches, spatial/geographical analysis, immersive methodologies and autoethnography, which will aid in the practical critique and re-imagining of Environmental Law.

This Handbook offers an up-to-date analytical overview of the most important topics in EU health law and policy. It outlines, as far as possible, the direction of travel for each topic and suggests research agendas for the future.Split into five parts, this book brings together international, interdisciplinary contributions to consider the past, present and future of EU health law and policy.

This book advances thinking on human rights methodology, offering instruction and guidance on the methodological approaches to human rights research.Seeking to bridge the methodological deficit often compounded by the interdisciplinary nature of human rights research, contributions by leading scholars in a range of evolving fields, provide an up-to-date assessment of human rights methods. This book gives a comprehensive treatment of disciplinary approaches, discusses methodological options and provides advice on how best to conduct human rights research in the crossroads of different academic disciplines. Also in print: KZ1266 .R47 2017 LAW.

Drawing on the expertise of a panel of contributors, the text explains the key theories and methods commonly used in Human Rights research and provides guidance on when each approach is appropriate. It addresses such approaches to Human Rights research as qualitative methods, quantitative analysis, critical ethnography and comparative approaches, supported by a wide range of geographic case studies and with reference to a wide range of subject areas.

This handbook explores the interplay between international human rights law and international humanitarian law, offering expert analysis on the increasingly complex issues surrounding their application in armed conflicts across the world. Contributors to this volume provide a comprehensive treatment of the ongoing relationship between human rights law and humanitarian law, from the historical background and origins of the two bodies of law to their various applications today.

The interaction between climate change and trade has grown in prominence in recent years. This Research Handbook contains authoritative original contributions from leading experts working at the interface between climate change and trade rules. Regional as well as international perspectives are taken into account to inform the complex questions that arise and redirect research efforts towards newly emerging issues. Also in print: K1005 .R47 2016 LAW.

This Research Handbook assembles the original work of leading legal and economic scholars, working in a variety of traditions and methodologies, on the economic analysis of labor and employment law. Also in print: K1705 .R47 2012 LAW.

The essays in this volume introduce and evaluate law and economics mechanisms, including the roles of microeconomic theory, public and social choice, history, complexity theory, philosophy, comparative law studies, behavioral economics and empirical techniques. Each one introduces a methodology, demonstrates its importance to the field of law and economics and assists the reader in navigating the leading literature on that topic.

This Research Handbook assembles the original work of leading legal and economic scholars, working in a variety of traditions and methodologies, on the economic analysis of labor and employment law. Also in print: K1705 .R47 2012 LAW.

This handbook explores the interplay between international human rights law and international humanitarian law, offering expert analysis on the increasingly complex issues surrounding their application in armed conflicts across the world. Contributors to this volume provide a comprehensive treatment of the ongoing relationship between human rights law and humanitarian law, from the historical background and origins of the two bodies of law to their various applications today.

This book provides a thorough explanation of the key features, characteristics, and challenges of distinct methodological approaches to public law research. Divided into four broad categories; traditional, institutional, technical and critical, chapters cover a wide range of approaches, from doctrinal and interpretive methods to empirical, socio-legal, and Marxist approaches. The book promotes critical reflection on many of the most common methodological approaches and aims to demystify research methodologies in public law for new scholars and interdisciplinary researchers alike.