Research Guides: U.S. Legislation, Court Cases & Related Information Online: Federal

Federal Legislation

Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eFCR)
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a web version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) that is updated daily to better reflect its current status. The eCFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and amendments published in the daily Federal Register. It also allows for point-in-time research.
Federal Register
Contains current Presidential proclamations and Executive orders, Federal agency regulations having general applicability and legal effect, proposed agency rules, and documents required by statute to be published. All Federal regulations in force are codified annually in the Code of Federal Regulations.
Regulations.gov
Contains proposed regulations and related documents published by participating U.S. Federal government agencies. You can also find Final Regulations, Notices, Scientific and Technical Findings, Guidance, and Adjudications.

Congressional Bills
From 101st Congress to present
Bill Record available from 93rd Congress (1973-74)
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
From the Library of Congress
Selected full-text bills and resolutions from 1799 to 1875

RECAP Archive (from the Free Law Project)
The RECAP Archive is a searchable collection of millions of PACER documents and dockets that were gathered using their RECAP Extensions for Firefox and Chrome. PACER is the government-run system where nearly every legal document is filed from federal cases. The archive also includes every free PACER opinion.