GPHY 327 Geographical Imaginations

With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field, The Dictionary of Human Geography, fifth edition, remains the definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography.

Human geography has undergone a conceptual and methodological renaissance that has transformed the field into one of the most dynamic social sciences. Earlier traditions such as Marxist, feminist and phenomenological inquiry remain vibrant. In addition, human geographers have embraced a variety of newer philosophical approaches emanating from political economy and post-structuralism to engage new topics. Critical perspectives have been brought to bear on fields such as geographical information systems, and the long-standing schism between human and physical geography has been narrowed by the emergence of perspectives such as political ecology. This Encyclopedia, on this relatively new strand of geography, considers all these new developments and helps to further establish this field.

Containing over 3,100 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most authoritative single-volume reference work of its kind. It includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development.

I

Historical geography is an active, theoretically-informed and vibrant field of study within modern geography, with strong interdisciplinary connections with the humanities and the social sciences.

Via approximately 80 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on geography will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. Comprehensive to offer full coverage of major sub-themes and sub-fields within the discipline of geography, including regional geography, physical geography, global change, human and cultural geography, economic geography and locational analysis, political geography, geospatial technology, cartography, spatial thinking, research methodology, geographical education, and more.

Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, the Encyclopedia of Global Change is the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. Containing over 300 original, signed articles by distinguished scholars, it is the comprehensive work for this multi-discipline, high-profile field. The Encyclopedia synethsizes current knowledge on natural and human-made changes in the Earth's physical , chemical, and biological systems and the effects of these changes on society. Areas such as altered ecosystems, climate change, food supply, water production and consumption, population, and the political impact of global change are covered in detail.

The Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science covers the essence of this exciting, new, and expanding field in an easily understood but richly detailed style.