Skip to main content

Psychology

Note

The resources listed on this page do not include the actual tests. The references found in these sources often provide information on how to obtain the test, as well as how researchers are using these tests.

A Test Library is located at the Queen's Psychology Clinic at 184 Barrie Street. Restricted access is based on level of training and the classification of the test. For specific inquiries contact 613-533-6021 or stacey.burns@queensu.ca.

Tests & Measurements

Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment, and Treatment
REF BF176 .S78 2007

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

HAPI assists researchers identify measures (tests, questionnaires, etc.) needed for research studies, grant proposals, client / patient assessment, class papers / projects, theses / dissertations, and program evaluation.  Note: To find only those articles that contain the actual instrument, limit by checking the "Primary Source" box.

HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources. HSRR is not a repository of the actual resources.
 
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Online from 1985- (no. 9-17)
Print available at Stauffer Library - Compact Shelving, Call Number: BF431.2 .M5 (no. 1 - no. 17)
(Print subscription cancelled effective the end of no.17)
Information about and reviews of all English-language, standardized education and psychology tests. Full-text
 
Test Critiques
REF BF176.T419 1984-
A 10 volume set of tests, listed alphabetically. Each test is described in detail and includes sections on practical applications and technical aspects as well as a critique. Intended to be a practical and straightforward source for both professionals and university students at all levels.
 
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business
REF BF176.T43 2008 (Stauffer Library)
Alphabetical listing of thousands of assessment instruments with brief descriptions highlighting test's major features, format, scoring method and availability. This guide does not review or evaluate tests.
 
Tests In Print: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
(Produced by Buros Institute)
Print volumes are in Compact Shelving at Stauffer Library BF431.2.T47 (1961-2002), and at the Education Library at REF LB3051.Z9B8 (1961-2006).
TIP is a comprehensive list of more than 3000 commercially published tests that are in print and available for purchase. It provides descriptive listings and references of tests in print. TIP also guides the reader to critical test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series. These two separate reference tools work together and refer to each other.