Research Guides: Psychology: Articles

What are article indexes?

Use an index to find journal articles by doing a keyword or subject search. Articles are important in your research since they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Article Indexes: Psychology

PsycINFO (APA/PsycNET platform)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports published internationally. Includes cited references.
PsycARTICLES
Access to articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations (including the Canadian Psychological Association). Covers general psychology: specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Full-text (journal articles)
Pubmed
A database of citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Links are provided when full text versions of the articles are available via PubMed Central or other websites.
PTSDpubs
Formerly called PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Article Indexes: Multidisciplinary (includes Psychology)

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary index (with abstracts) to more than 10,900 publications including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports. Approximately 50% of the journal titles also contain the full-text of articles.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Centre)
Major index to North American research in the field of education and education-related topics, with document full-text where available.
Scholars Portal Journals
A digital repository of over 30 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline. Full-text (journal articles)
Web of Science
A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
more...less...
This database consists of these subject components, which can be searched simultaneously or individually (to search individually, limit to required citation database(s) at bottom of screen):

Science Citation Index Expanded - science and technology journals from 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index - social sciences journals from 1956-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - arts and humanities journals from 1975-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) from 1990-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) from 1990-present

Journal Citation Reports (listing impact factors and other journal performance metrics) are available through Web of Science.

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly journal articles are important sources for research as they contain current research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Scholarly journals are also referred to as "academic," "peer-reviewed," or "refereed" journals.

For more information, please refer to: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.