Skip to main content

ENGL 817: Publishing Practicum

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor

Key Literature Indexes and Databases

This is the standard bibliography for scholarly writing on literature, linguistics, drama, folklore, etc. Indexes over 4,000 international journals, as well as monographs, dissertations, and other publications.
 
Searchable database of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Also indexes criticism from The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), and includes the full text of 104 specialist literature journals.
 
The LRC is a complete literature reference database rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.
 
A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, fine arts, social sciences and mathematics.
 
An archival collection of journal articles that includes core titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from the first volume to within 2-5 years of the current volume. In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to some titles from various publishers.

Other Relevant Databases

Tracks the citation of scholarly articles. Includes citation in books, but not citation of books. While for the humanities it is an imperfect tool for gauging influence of scholarly work, it can be used to grasp the shape of debates or discussions that are not easily described by topic or author.
 
Indexes articles published in and about Canada.
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check QCAT
An interdisciplinary index to over 400 English and French Canadian periodicals indexed by author and subject.
Covers all aspects of European medieval studies from 450 to 1500.
 
Indexes articles and reviews from over 550 scholarly journals. 
 
Indexes citations to 45 periodicals of the Victorian period (1824-1900).

Ssearch Engines

Google Scholar
Google's scholarly search engine.  Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials including journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Enabling the Get it @ Queen's links
Off-campus
: access Google Scholar through the Queen's Library link where you will have to enter your NetID and password

To enable the Get it at Queen's links off campus

Summon
Summon is the library’s search engine, which enables a simultaneous search of QCAT and many of the library’s online collections from a single search box. It can be a good starting point to find material but if you are doing high level research, you will want to search relevant subject specific databases.

Look it Up
To find journal articles by title, you can use Summon. Type the title of the article in the search box.  Remember to add quotations to search for the title as a phrase. For example:

Miller, Adam: "Ann Radcliffe's Scientific Romance" Eighteenth-Century Fiction, (28:3), 2016, 527-545.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

Featured Journals

 
REF PR13 .E5Y (1919 - 2012)
Online from 1996, YW is the 
qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English.