Skip to main content

Global Development Studies

Statistics

 
The following is a selection of frequently used print and electronic resources. For more statistics sources, see Data & Statistics. Assistance is available via email at open.scholarship.services@queensu.ca .
 
The Statistical Database System (SDBS) is the Asian Development Bank’s central statistical database that stores macro-economic and social data of its developing member countries (DMCs).
 
Human Development Reports
An independent publication commissioned by UNDP (United Nations Development Programme). The reports, published annually from 1990, contain thought provoking analyses of major issues, updated Human Development Indicators that compare the relative levels of human development of over 175 countries, and agendas to help transform development priorities.
 
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
Offers free current statistics from official sources, downloadable in text or spreadsheet files. Searchable by country, region or topic.
 
The Canadian government website for statistics.
 
UN Demographic Yearbook
DOCS UN4 ESA100 D29 from 1948-2004 (latest at DOCS REF)
The Yearbook collects, compiles and makes available official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices.  Disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, among others.
 
UN Statistical Yearbook
DOCS UN4 ESA100 S79 from 1948- 2004 (latest at DOCS REF)
A comprehensive compendium of vital internationally comparable data for the analysis of socio-economic development at the world, regional and national levels. The Yearbook provides data on the world economy, its structure, major trends and current performance, as well as on issues such as population and social statistics, economic activity and international economic relations.
 
Times series - a compilation of UN and agency statistics.
 
World Bank Atlas (36th ed.)
DOCS UN9 WB A78 1966-1981, 1983, 1985-2004 (Latest at DOCS REF)
Provides easy-to-read colorful world maps, tables, and graphs highlighting key social, economic, and environmental data for 206 countries. The Atlas parallels the six thematic sections of the World Development Indicators: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.
 

World Development Indicators (WDI)
from 1960 to 1-2 years ago
DOCS UN9 WB W55 from 1997-2009 (Latest at DOCS REF)
"...premiere data source on the global economy." Contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
 
The World Bank's annual WDR is an invaluable guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year it provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development. Past reports have considered such topics as the role of the state, transition economies, labor, infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty. The reports are the Bank's best-known contribution to thinking about development.Coverage is from 1978 to present.