Skip to main content

Medieval History

Bibliographies

Consult bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic. To find out what bibliographies the Library has, do a subject search in QCAT.
 
civilization, medieval--bibliography
 
Bibliography of English History to 1485
REF Z2017.B5
"Survey of printed materials, relating to the political, constitutional, legal, social, and economic history of England, Wales and Ireland down to 1485".
 
A Guide to the Study of Medieval History
D100.P12 1931
 
Literature of Medieval History 1930-1975
Z6203.P25 1980
Five volume set which is a supplement to Paetow's A Guide to the Study of Medieval History. Includes primary and secondary sources. Concentrates on medieval studies of Western Europe.
 
Medieval Studies: A Bibliographical Guide
REF Z5579.C76
Lists the "major collections and secondary literature considered to be of basic importance for the history and the culture of the western European Middle Ages, Byzantium, and medieval Islamic civilizations".
 
A searchable bibliography of texts from letters, wills, literary works, church records, philosophical treaties and more. When available, includes links to online sources.
 
Lists books, journals, primary documents, web resources, and multimedia in various discipline-based subject modules including Medieval Studies.
 
Sources of Information in the Social Sciences
REF Z7161.S666
Lists information sources (monographs, journals, and bibliographies) that are important in the field of medieval history.
 
Women in Western European History
REF Z7961.F74 1982
Two volume set which lists references to books and journal articles. Arrangement is by period, further divided by country and then by subject. Volume 1 is from antiquity to the French Revolution. Volume 2 is the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies which will help you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.

Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

For example, there are research guides on Medieval Studies, Renaissance and Reformation, Military History, Political Science, to name a few