Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search Omni using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".
Dictionary of Battles
D25 .A2 H2 1971
Lists major battles from 1479 B.C. to the Vietnam War.
Dictionary of Historical Terms
REF D9 .C67 1998
This third edition provides definitions of "many hundreds of historical terms chosen from every epoch of modern world history".
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF D114 .D5
Thirteen volumes, an excellent source of information about the people, events and concepts of the Middle Ages. Organized in either major articles of 10,000 words or short definitions. Contains bibliographies, mainly of works in English but also includes references to important works in other languages.
Historical Tables 58 B.C.-A.D. 1985
D11.S83 1986
A tabular chronology of world history, arranged in six columns by period.
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
REF DA129.M43 1998
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia
REF DS124.M386 2003
New Arthurian Encyclopedia
REF DA152.5.N48 1991
A comprehensive and critical treatment of Arthurian subjects, artists, and works, both medieval and modern.
New Cambridge Medieval History
Written by leading international scholars and incorporating the very latest research, the History provides comprehensive analysis of all aspects of medieval history from late antiquity to c. 1500.
The "History" collection of reference works is one component in the Oxford Reference Online database, a huge and comprehensive resource which contains the full text of over 120 dictionaries, companions and other reference publications covering the complete subject spectrum.
Rulers and Governments of the World
REF D11.5.R67 1977
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
HF1001.T7 2000
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
HQ1147.E85 W66 2006
Daily life of medieval women in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE.
Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia
HQ1143.W643 2004
