Skip to main content

MUSC 103: Music and Society

Recommended Database

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Published recordings from the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as archival audio collections of legendary U.S. record labels. Includes music recorded in Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, North, Central and South America.

JVC Anthology

Product Details


Now converted to streaming format for use at Queen's! (Requires latest version of Adobe Flash Player)

The JVC video anthology of world music and dance, is a series of 30 DVDs presenting examples of music and dance from many parts of the world. Check "Full Details" in QCAT to see the contents.

Streaming Sources

Access from off-campus to streaming resources provided for the Queen's community requires use of the web proxy.

Criterion on-Demand: Over 2900 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more for streaming or downloading. Requires use of the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in on both PC and Mac.

Films on Demand: Documentaries and educational videos, including a section on World Music in the Music and Dance Video Collection. Requires latest version of Adobe Flash Player.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries: Published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as archival audio collections of legendary record labels in the United States. Includes music recorded in Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, North, Central and South America.  Search results now contain embedded links to related articles in The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Naxos Music Library: Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.

Naxos Video Library: Over 1370 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, jazz, live concerts and documentaries, searchable by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

NFB.ca: National Film Board Videos Online: Over 1000 NFB films are free to all Canadians, but Queen's Library community also has an additional account giving access to 3,000 films for classrooms.

Multimedia Resources in the Library

There are many other multimedia resources (books with CDs, LPs, CDs, VHS, DVDs) that are accessible in the library:

Folksongs of another America : field recordings from the Upper Midwest, 1937-1946 (ML3551 .L35 2015; book in Stacks contains 5 CDs and 1 DVD).

The Garland handbook of African music, 2nd ed. (ML350 .G54 2008; book in Stacks contains 1 CD)

The Garland handbook of Latin American music, 2nd ed. (ML199 .G36 2008; book in Stacks contains 2 CDs)

The Garland handbook of Southeast Asian music (ML345 .A785 G37 2008; book in Stacks contains 1 CD)

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Africa (DVD10-002 v. 1-3 or video no. 293 v. 1-3 in Stauffer Multimedia Collection)

The JVC/ Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Europe (videos nos. 307-308 in Stauffer Multimedia Collection)

The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of the Americas (DVD09-002, v. 1-6 in Stauffer Multimedia Collection: contents listed on QCAT under call number: ML3549 .J83 2005)

The JVC video anthology of world music and dance (DVD08-012 v. 1-30 in Stauffer Multimedia Collection: contents listed on QCAT under call number: ML3545 .J82 2005)

Music in Latin America and the Caribbean (ML199 .M858 2004; 2 vol. set in Stacks with CDs in each volume)