Skip to main content

MUSC 385: Research, Issues, and Methodologies in Musicology

Streaming Sources

Access from off-campus to streaming resources provided for the Queen's community requires use of the web proxy.

Criterion on-Demand: Over 2900 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more for streaming or downloading. Requires use of the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in on both PC and Mac.

Digital Theatre Plus: full-length films of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, classical music, dance, musicals, opera and adaptations of classic novels

Films on Demand: Documentaries and educational videos, including a section on World Music in the Music and Dance Video Collection. Requires latest version of Adobe Flash Player.

Met Opera on Demand 600+ Metropolitan Opera performances from 1977-2003, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. 5-user limit.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries: Published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as archival audio collections of legendary record labels in the United States. Includes music recorded in Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, North, Central and South America.  Search results now contain embedded links to related articles in The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Naxos Music Library: Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.

Naxos Video Library: Over 1370 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, jazz, live concerts and documentaries, searchable by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

NFB.ca: National Film Board Videos Online: Over 1000 NFB films are free to all Canadians, but Queen's Library community also has an additional account giving access to 3,000 films for classrooms.

Multimedia Resources in the Library

There are many other multimedia resources (books with CDs, LPs, CDs, VHS, DVDs) that are accessible in the library. Search QCAT using Keyword Boolean and adding the terms (video? or disc), or Limit Your Search to Videos/DVDs/Streaming Video.

The JVC video anthology of world music and dance (DVD08-012 v. 1-30 in the Multimedia Collection: contents listed on QCAT under call number: ML3545 .J82 2005).  The JVC video anthology of world music and dance series is also now available in streaming format for use at Queen's (requires latest version of Adobe Flash Player).

Product Details

The JVC/ Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Europe (videos nos. 307-308 in the Multimedia Collection)

The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of the Americas (DVD09-002, v. 1-6 in the Multimedia Collection: contents listed on QCAT under call number: ML3549 .J83 2005)