Skip to main content

MUTH 111: Listening to Revolutions: History, Arts, and Performance II

Book citation

How to analyze a book citation

Plantinga, Leon. "Beethoven, Napoleon, and Political Romanticism." In The Oxford Handbook of the New Cultural History of Music, edited by Jane F. Fulcher, 484-500. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.

The citation refers to a chapter in an editied book.

Tip: Search QCAT by Title Exact to see if Queen's Library has the book oxford handbook of the new cultural history of music.  Omit initial articles (the, an, a).  Ignore punctuation and case.

Searching QCAT for books and ebooks

Search QCAT, the catalogue of the Queen's University Library, by Author, Title, Keyword/Keyword BooleanSubject Heading, or Call Number to find books and other materials in our collection.  Keyword Boolean searching can be very useful to find books on topics or information in other formats, especially if you don't know the correct subject heading, or specific author or title.
 
Search by Keyword Boolean using and”, “or”, “not to combine terms
 
Narrow or refine search by adding other terms: e.g. 
 
      opera and revolution and france
      baroque and concertos and disc
 
Broaden search using the "?" symbol to truncate for variable word endings (e.g. nouns, adjectives, singular or plural) or by using "or" between similar or possible terms nested in brackets: e.g.
 
      opera? and revolution? and (france or french) [use ? as truncation symbol for different possible word endings]
      dramma and (giocoso or comico)
      tango? and (disc or sound or video?) [for tango music or dance on audio or video recordings]
 
Use quotes around a phrase or concept: e.g. 
 
"opera buffa" [use for concept of two or more words]
"cultural appropriation"
"serva padrona" and pergolesi [for titles of films, plays, operas or songs]
opera? and "political aspects"
 
Limit large result sets by library location or by using "not": e.g.
 
         tango? [limit to Music Collection (in Stauffer Library) for music; to Stauffer Library for dance/interdisciplinary materials]
         beethoven and symphon? and "op. 68" not (disc or sound) [to find books and/or scores only
         "rhapsody in blue" not (disc or video?) [to find books and/or scores only]    
 
From your results, select useful titles and click on the subjects assigned to find other books on your topic.

Browsing by Call numbers

Browsing call numbers on shelves or online is another strategy for locating books on a topic that can lead to serendipitous discovery.

When you find a call number in QCAT on a topic of interest, browse in that call number (LC classification) range for more items on your topic.

Useful call numbers for browsing topics in the discipline of music:

   ML159-360 (history & criticism, by country)
   ML410 (composer biography/criticism)
   ML460-1380 (instruments & instrumental music, by country)
   ML3470-3541 (Popular music, by country, special kinds and styles)
   ML3545-3776 (National music: blues, folk, jazz, ethnic, etc.) 
   ML3797 (Musicology: methods of historical research)

Useful call numbers for browsing topics in the discipline of drama:

   PN1560-1590 (performing arts, show business)
   PN1720-1861 (drama history)
   PN2000-3307 (dramatic representation (the theater, art of acting), by period)
   PN2219.3-3030 (dramatic representation (the theater, art of acting), by region or country)
   PN621-739 (English drama, by period)
   PS623-634 (drama - plays)
   PS700-3626 (plays by individual authors, by period)
   PS8001-8599 (Canadian literature, including plays)

Ebooks

The Library subscribes to a number of ebook packages. Check the Ebooks libguide for the best ways to access ebooks at Queen's (QCAT, Summon, specific subject guides). Some ebook packages that are of interest for MUTH111 are:
 
Provides full-text access to major works in American, European and Middle Eastern history. Topics covered include many aspects of history, plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Records for these books are in QCAT.
 
Historical reference compendium allows access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Search or browse by topic. Relevant for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers.
 
Blackwell publishes a series of books of historiographic essays on many topics in history. They are available online through Blackwell Reference Online.
 
Oxford Scholarship Online                        
Offers full-text access to scholarly publishing in 20 subjects from around the world,
 
Provides access to about 600,000 ebooks from a wide variety of publishers.
 
UPSO includes titles from Oxford University Press and other partner presses.  QUL has access to selected titles, indicated by a green open lock icon on search results screens.
 
Free ebook sites:
 
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
 
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts. There is also a collection of 300,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed or downloaded by the print-disabled at OpenLibrary.org.