Skip to main content

RELS-201

Overview

The RELS-201 library course guide has been designed to introduce students to finding articles using the ATLA databse.

By reviewing the sections in this guide, you will be able to:

  • be familiar with the library facilities at Queen's University;
  • navigate to ATLA from the QUL homepage; and
  • employ effective and efficient search strategies within the ATLA database

About Queen's University Libraries

The Queen’s University library system includes six libraries in five facilities: the Bracken Health Sciences Library, the Engineering and Science Library and W.D. Jordan Special Collections and Music Library (both located in the Douglas Library Building), the Education Library, the Lederman Law Library and the Stauffer Library.

Stauffer Library

Stauffer Library is the Business, Humanities and Social Sciences library, and houses the majority of the Global Development Studies collection of books and printed journals. It is also home to the Queen’s Learning Commons. Located on the main floor of Stauffer Library, the Queen’s Learning Commons brings together a comprehensive, integrated set of academic support services, workshops, and resources for Queen's students.

To learn more about Stauffer Library, you can take a virtual tour.

Queen's Library subscribes to over 650 specialized databases and article indexes, several hundred thousand electronic books, 80,000 electronic journals and newspapers, and has well over 2 million physical (non-electronic) items including over 1.65 million books. The Queen's University Library homepage is the gateway to the library's collections and research tools. [Tip: Bookmark the Library Homepage for easy future reference]

Among the research tools that one can access from the library homepage are:

  • Summon - simultaneously search the Queen's University Library catalogue (QCAT) and many of our electronic resources (electronic books, articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, theses and more) from a single search box
  • QCAT, the Queen's University Library catalogue
  • Databases - article indexes and research databases
  • Research by Subject - Library research guides consisting of highly recommended sources for each discipline, including Religious Studies.

Stauffer Home Page

Access to the electronic subscription resources to which Queen's Library subscribes (such as article indexes and databases, ebooks and ejournals) is restricted to current Queen's students, staff and faculty. On campus (including in residence), you automatically have access, but from off-campus, in order to access the library's electronic resources you will need to log in to the Queen's web proxy service with your NetID and password. When you click on a subscription resource from off-campus, you will be prompted to login.

Web Proxy

You can also login prior to beginning your research: from the Queen's Library homepage click the link "Connect from Off-Campus" to login.

Connect from of-campus

Subject guides are an important resource that will help you with your library research in every course you take at Queen's. These guides contain highly recommended research resources that support the study of a particular discipline. The Religious Studies Guide, for example, will direct you to recommended sources for background information and article databases for your course studies.

Access the guides from the Research by Subject area on the library homepage. The Religious Studies guide can be found in the Social Sciences section: