The Practice of Law School: Legal Skills and Mental Health and Wellness

The Anxious Lawyer is a straightforward introduction to meditation and mindfulness for those engaged in the practice of law. Readers will be guided through an eight week program, the aim of which is to assist in establishing an ongoing meditation practice.

This is an edited collection that compiles the experiences of eighteen women as they navigate their way through the male-dominated spaces of law school and the legal profession. Hear from women from different generations and areas of the law--big and small law firms, legal aid, government and politics, the judiciary, in-house positions, administrative agencies. The authors discuss a multitude of issues they've faced in their careers, including the compound effects of discrimination based on race, sexual orientation, or disability as well as gender. Creating a Seat at the Table shows that much has been done to advance women in law but also highlights that much remains to be done.

This book offers an empathetic guide for members of the legal profession to cultivate their personal and professional well-being, identify and develop their individual strengths, and define success on their own terms. Drawing from lessons and research from the fields of psychology, health care, sports, and medicine, this book is an affirming guide to becoming a better contributor to the profession while living a flourishing life.

The Guide to Belonging in Law School allows readers to engage in an authentic, rigorous, mini-law school semester involving reading, studying, five Socratic classes (through the connected website), exam preparation, and exam writing. This book also provides a foundation for students from marginalized groups to recognize and manage both subtle and explicit barriers that can impede their progress.

A deeply personal account of one Queen's alumna and former Big Law partner’s dance with burnout, mental illness and what she learned along the way.

In this engaging collection of commentary and readings, Elkins invites students (and their teachers) to reflect on the nature of law school work, the culture in which it takes place, and the lasting effects of law school rites of passage on those who undertake the law school journey.

This book is designed to help law students and lawyers of all experience levels find a sustainable and meaningful life in the field of law. This book includes journaling and other interactive exercises that can help lawyers find peace, focus, meaning, and happiness over a lifetime of practicing law.

The Legal Brain is an essential guide for legal professionals seeking to understand the impact of chronic stress on their brain and mental health. Drawing on the latest neuroscience and psychology research, the book translates complex scientific concepts into actionable advice for legal professionals looking to enhance their well-being and thrive amidst the demands and stressors of the profession. Chapters cover optimizing cognitive fitness and performance, avoiding or healing cognitive damage, and protecting "the lawyer brain." Whether you are a law student, practicing lawyer, judge, or leader of a legal organization, this book provides valuable insights and strategies for building resilience, maintaining peak performance, and protecting your most important asset - your brain.

Section I brings together chapters that focus on the culture of law schools, and the need to embrace a new, forward-thinking and innovative way of defining what law schools are and do and how we educate students. The chapters in Section II focus on relationships: the relationships millennials in the academy have with ourselves, our institutions, and the community. Section III includes chapters that detail how millennial leaders work in the classroom, how they use things like feedback and assessment to change the dynamic in the classroom and to innovate law school pedagogy to educate well-rounded lawyers. Section IV is an essential read for anyone who spends time thinking about the current legal economy and law schools roles in educating practice-ready lawyers. Finally, Section V includes chapters on change.

The Mindful Law Student is an innovative guide to learning about mindfulness and integrating mindfulness practices into the law school experience. Through the use of metaphor, insight, mindfulness practices, and relaxation, and self-care exercises, students are reminded of the tools they have long carried with them to navigate the exciting and challenging environment of law school and the practice of law. Scott Rogers brings readers on a journey through the law school experience with seven hypothetical students who experience situations that make tangible the challenges, benefits, and promise of mindfulness.

This book is designed to introduce law students to fundamental contemplative practices as well as the cutting-edge research that shows how incorporating mindfulness techniques can alter the physical structure and function of the brain to reflect decreased levels of stress, increased levels of productivity and improved mental health. This book is based on the Jurisight(R) program - which uses legal terms and concepts to teach lawyers what they need to know about mindfulness and neuroscience to lead more balanced and effective lives - and written with input from law students, law professors and recent law school graduates to ensure that the lessons are accessible to law students and can be easily integrated into their busy schedules.

A meditation-a-day book that is designed to help lawyers and law students alike recover their spiritual strength in this hectic world. It includes such themes as overcoming fear, personal beliefs and values, maintaining integrity, personally defining success, dealing with difficult people, and common workplace challenges.

This is a book of essays written by legal professionals (including lawyers, judges and law professors) with lived mental health experience and includes a chapter written by a mental health professional about the diagnosis and treatment of depression, which is the most common mental illness. The authors and contributors share their experiences of working in the legal profession while dealing with various types of mental illness including depression, anxiety, bipolarity, obsessive compulsive disorder, addiction, eating disorders and other mental health conditions. Some of the contributors share their experiences with imposter syndrome and perfectionism both of which are prevalent among legal professionals.

The Significant Lawyer describes changes in the legal profession beginning in the mid-1980s when lawyers began to measure success by the profits they and their firms generated. Law became a business, not a profession. Integrity, efficiency, and strong client relationships eroded. Lawyers found themselves professionally unfulfilled. Practice today would look vastly different if lawyers aligned themselves with the shared values of their profession and with their own values and priorities. Choosing this path, an attorney embraces the practice of law as a profession and commits to serve others with integrity, competence, and compassion. The outcome is a lawyer who discovers fulfilment and significance in the practice of their profession, and the profession is better for it.

This book serves as a resource for promoting well-being and culture-change in the legal community by educating about pertinent issues impacting lawyers, and how to address them. It is a roadmap, highlighting the many over-arching and inter-connected aspects of well-being, and enabling readers to identify and target the issues most relevant to their unique situations.

This book's focus is on trauma as it impacts and applies to lawyers and clients in practice, legal education, courts and judges, and the legal system and profession as a whole. This book gives voice to only some of the many traumatic experiences that arise in all aspects of law. Unless we hear these voices, we cannot begin to address the many legal, ethical, moral, educational, juridical systems or other issues they raise even where we have tools to do so. The pursuit of justice means voices of trauma in the legal system deserve to be heard, individually and collectively, even when it's difficult to listen.

This book examines transitions from law school to the legal profession and their impact on wellbeing. This edited collection will explore a range of transitions, from entry into law school through to progression to managerial roles within the legal profession. Rather than focusing on discrete areas or chunks of time, this book focuses on the process of transitioning holistically.