Showcase for art in over 3,200 public, collaborating UK collections (museums, universities, town halls, hospitals and other civic buildings), where 80% of the art is not on public view.
British Library: Images Online
- The Picture Library of the British Library holds over 150 million items including the King's Library, manuscripts, rare books, musical texts, maps, illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs spanning almost 3000 years
British Library: Online Gallery
- 30,000 items from the British Library Collection, including Online Exhibitions
High-definition images, enlargeable for detailed examination, of almost four and a half million early to contemporary objects
Cleveland Museum of Art: Open Access Collection
Digital rights waived to approximately 30,000 objects to provide unlimited online access to works in museum's collection in the public domain (artists dead for at least 120 years) for use by anyone, anywhere, for any purpose.
Digital Imaging Project- Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern (Prof. Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton University).
Folger Shakespeare Library: Digital Image Collection
- High resolution images from books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art to re-use for any purpose provided credit is given to the Folger Shakespeare Library as the source. Direct link to database catalog
- The Frick Collection's digital image archive
- The Getty Research Institute Digital Collections
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Library of Congress's gateway to primary source materials in over 100 historical collections relating to the history and culture of the United States.
More than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis
The Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online
- Over 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded for non-commercial use.
National Gallery of Art: The Collection
- Search the entire National Gallery of Art collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, accession number, exhibition history, and/or catalogue raisonné.
- The Rijksmuseum's Rijks Studio, a free online collection of over 709,000 digitized artworks, is searchable by artist, object type, period, and place. Most of the digitized works are in the public domain - downloadable and even customizable with the museum's free resources.
- 1,146,388 objects and 416,583 images from the V&A's collections
- More than 300,000 images in cartography, fine arts, architecture and photography from over fifty renowned collections
The Walters Art Museum: Online Collection
- High-resolution archival images from the collection of the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore, Maryland, along with detailed catalog descriptions
- Digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1100 and 1850
