CHEM397/398/399 - Experimental Chemistry

The U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, a division of the Center for Disease Control, maintains this website. It includes 300+ profiles of toxic substances and their effects on human health and the environment.

Bretherick's (8th ed., 2017) contains hazardous reaction information for 5,000 elements and compounds.

A portal to health and safety information, legislation and regulations from Canadian federal, provincial and territorial governments.

Published in the Journal of Chemical Education, CLIPs are designed to help chemistry instructors and students understand the hazards of common lab chemicals and materials.

Profiles of about 1,000 chemicals from CCOHS's database.

This database, which is supported by the Pistoia Alliance, provides access to previously unpublished information on hazardous chemical reactions. There is no cost to access but registration is required.

This book covers approximately 1,300 chemical substances. Engineering & Science Library: RA1211 .P38 2007 ref

This database is part of a suite of databases maintained by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. It contains data sourced from many sites and databases.

DOSE covers 5,300 chemicals and their effects on the environment, toxicity, physical properties and regulatory requirements.

This database contains health and safety information for over 1,700 chemicals.

LCSS is a public source for chemical hazard and safety information for about 5,000 compounds listed in the PubChem database. It is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Call number: QD51 .H55 2010

This online site lists dozens of internet sources where you can find material safety data sheets (MSDS).

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (US)

This database contains chemical safety information for approximately 800 chemicals.

First published in 1948, Patty's is a "cornerstone reference work for chemists, engineers, toxicologists, and occupational safety personnel."

This open access database contains crowd sourced data describing hazardous reactions and other real or potential laboratory safety incidents. It is hosted by the Chemical Abstracts Service of the American Chemical Society..

Also available in print, call number: T55.3.H3 P78 2011

A collection of current safety manuals, procedures and links to safety legislation.

A short article from ChemMatters (Dec. 2015) on how to use safety data sheets.

Published by the American Chemical Society Joint Board–Council Committee on Chemical Safety, this volume is designed for use by students in lab settings.

First published in 1951 and continuously updated, this book contains extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances. Previous editions are available in Bracken Library and the Engineering & Science Library.

This guide (3rd ed., 2009) contains 9,000 chemical incompatibility profiles.

This site is managed by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS).