Classics and Archaeology

Primary sources are original sources, in which witnesses or first recorders describe a time, person or event. Primary sources in Classics and Archaeology are literary works (poems, plays, and histories) and artifacts (pottery, coins and sculptures) and other materials from the ancient world.

For more information on primary sources please refer to the library's Primary Sources Guide.

To find primary sources in the library, search for your topic in Omni and look for the subdivision sources following a subject heading.

• For example: Greece -- History -- To 146 B.C. -- Sources

Access through Queen's

• Jacoby Online. Also known as: Brill's New Jacoby, New Jacoby Online, Fragmente der griechischen Historiker, BNJ.
• Library of Latin Texts Online: LLT is the world’s leading database for Latin texts.It includes genres as varied as chronicles; medieval saints’ lives; travel narratives; legal texts; theological, philosophical and scientific treatises; and translations of Greek works. Background information is also provided for the texts.
• Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: The TLG digital library contains most ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer and the fall of Byzantium. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.

Other sources

• Ancient World Digital Library: Publicly available digital library of public domain content on the ancient world.
• Patrologiae Graecae: Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439
• Patrologia Latina Database: Covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.
• Perseus Digital Library: Includes maps, art, archaeology, texts, and more. Classical primary sources and secondary texts in English, Greek, and Latin.