Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Finding Articles

Engineering & Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Douglas Library, Office 512

613-533-6000 ext. 75685

Subjects: Civil Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Mechatronics and Robotics Engineering

Finding Articles

Peer-reviewed journal articles are important scientific communication tools in Civil Engineering. The peer-review publication process helps to ensure that the research findings are trustworthy, accurate, and of value to the field. They often contain the first reports of new research and sometimes contain literature review summaries of past research conducted on a topic that is of current interest.

Flow of Scientific Information
This chart visualizes the creation process of scientific information, beginning from the first idea or hypothesis through each different type of research output (article, conference proceeding, monograph, handbook, etc.).

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Web of Science
A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
Engineering Village
Search a group of indexes covering the research literature on physics, earth sciences and all fields of engineering. Indexes include Inspec, Compendex, GeoRef, and GEOBASE.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The IEEE Xplore® digital library provides access to IEEE journals, transactions, letters, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE Standards. The subscription includes access to the full-text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872.
ASCE Research Library
The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications. It offers online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers—1.5 million pages of content. More than 7,000 papers are added annually. Queen’s Library subscribes to the complete package that includes journals, proceedings books, standards, and Civil Engineering magazine.
Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.

TRID
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.3 million records of transportation research worldwide.
American Society of Civil Engineers Database
Publication coverage: Journals: 1958 to present ; Books: 1900 to present. The database covers ASCE publications (journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals and magazines) since 1972.
Environment Complete
Deep coverage of environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records, some with images, from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, and Conservation Biology. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), and Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management.

Off-Campus Access

If you are a member (student, professor, researcher, employee, etc.) of the Queen's University community, you can access all of the Library's subscribed electronic resources while off-campus using the link below.

Connect from off-campus

Where's the Article?

If the full-text is not available in the database, click on the Get It @ Queen's button to see if the article is available electronically (either from a journal or another database) or in print.

If the article is not available, you can request a copy using Interlibrary Loans. It's free!

Looking for something else?

You can browse all databases that QUL subscribes to by subject from the QUL website.