Research Guides: Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Market Research

What is Market Research?

Market research includes a wide range of activities that entrepreneurs and companies undertake in order gather information and data about products, customers and markets.

Market and Business Data

Financial Performance Data
Created by Industry Canada, Financial Performance Data provides access to data for more than 1,000 industries across Canada.

For more information about market research resources, visit the Business Information guide.

Canadian Industry Statistics
U.S. Economic Census
The Economic Census, which is conducted every five years, collects a vast array of data on markets, business and economic activity.
Trade Data Online
Source of customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.

Market and Business Research Reports

Business Source Premier
Business database with thousands of sources, including scholarly journals, trade magazines, company and industry news and reports. Includes electronic full text of the Harvard Business Review.
IBISWorld
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and global industry research.
Key Small Business Statistics
Collection of annual and special reports published by Industry Canada.
Passport by Euromonitor International
International market research on consumer industries, economies, countries and companies. Provides country demographics and economic conditions; consumer lifestyle profiles; sales volume, value and forecasts for retail products, major brands and companies.
Research Reports
Collection of reports prepared or commissioned by the Small Business Branch of Industry Canada.