Skip to main content

HLTH 200

Finding Articles

To locate articles on your topic, use an index or a database. For more in-depth searching, use subject databases.

There are a number of journal article databases useful for research in Health Studies. Search more than one as they index different journals (as well as different types of resources).

The Health Studies Subject Guide lists core and related recommended databases. Key databases include:

Health & Medicine @ ProQuest

A pre-selected group of 10 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in health & medicine. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.

Ovid MEDLINE

Medline (via Ovid) is a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, allied health, and preclinical sciences. It contains more than 26 million references from over 6.500 worldwide journals.

PubMed

Over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1948. Also includes links to sites providing full text articles and related resources. Mobile access available.

SportDiscus

The SPORTDiscus database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of fitness, health and sport studies.

 

Other Useful Indexes and Databases

Indexes articles newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Particularly useful for finding grey literature.
 
Gender Studies Database provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues and sexual diversity.

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly journal articles are very important sources for research as they contain current research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Scholarly journals are also referred to as "academic," "peer-reviewed," or "refereed" journals. 

For more information, please refer to: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.