International Law

Covering the origins, content, institutional structure and accountability mechanisms of international environmental law, in their social-economic and political context, Ellen Hey discusses substantive and procedural fairness, thus exploring questions of distributive justice, accountability and legitimacy.

The Encyclopedia is organised into 12 volumes around top-level subjects - such as water, energy and climate change - that reflect some of the most pressing issues facing us today. Each volume probes the key elements of law, the essential concepts, and the latest research through concise, structured entries written by international experts. Each entry includes an extensive bibliography as a starting point for further reading.

This book provides ready access to treaties, conventions, legislation and practice concerning International Environmental Law. The introduction covers geographic considerations, political, social and cultural aspects of environmental study, the history, sources and principles of environmental law, environmental legislation, carbon credits and the role of public authorities. The main body deals first with laws aimed directly at protecting the environment from pollution in specific areas such as air, water, waste, soil, noise, and radiation. Then, a section on nature and conservation management covers protection of natural and cultural resources such as monuments, landscapes, parks and reserves, wildlife, agriculture, forests, fish, subsoil, and minerals. Further treatment includes the application of zoning and land-use planning, rules on liability, and administrative and judicial remedies to environmental issues and disputes. There is also an analysis of the impact of international and regional legislation and treaties on environmental regulation.

This book introduces readers to major rulings from around the world that centre on climate change. In addition to including general considerations, discussion, and analysis of major climate cases, the book engages with specific case studies from around the world, such as The Heathrow Runway Case (UK); The Urgenda Case (Netherlands); The Colombian Amazon Case (Colombia); The Centre for Oil Pollution Watch Case (Nigeria); The Gloucester Resources Case (Australia); and Climate Case Ireland (Ireland).

The book discusses the key principles underpinning international environmental law, its relevant actors and tools, and rules applying in its substantive sub-fields such as climate law, oceans law, wildlife and biodiversity law, and hazardous substances regulation. It also explores the intersection of international environmental law with other areas of international law, such as those concerned with trade, investment, disaster, migration, armed conflict, intellectual property, energy, and human rights.

This book brings together leading scholars in the field to summarize and access key topics including tort and insurance law, disaster law, water law and marine law as well as biodiversity law and pollution control.

This book provides a comparative overview of climate change mitigation issues and international regulatory approaches, bringing together expert contributors to analyse key sectors such as energy, transport, cities, industry, land use, agriculture and waste.

This edition critically engages with current legal issues surrounding activities that harm the marine environment, including marine pollution, seabed activities, exploitation of marine biodiversity and climate change, and with the different legal tools and mechanisms, including environmental impact assessments and compliance and dispute settlement mechanisms, used to protect the marine environment.