International Law

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law is a comprehensive, analytical resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law.

Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book is one of the classic treatises on international law. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research.

Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book is one of the classic treatises on international law, now fully updated to order to take account of recent developments. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research.

Also available at KZ1277 .D37 2021 LAW.
This book looks at the structure of thought that lies beneath the arguments about customary international law. By examining these structures, the book uncovers surprising conclusions, and demonstrates what the author describes as the 'discursive splendour' of customary international law.

International law can be defined as 'the rules governing the legal relationship between nations and states'. However, with political, diplomatic and socio-economic factors shaping the law and its application, international law is much more complex. This concise textbook encourages students to view international law as a dynamic system of organising the world. Bringing international law back to its first principles and breathing new life and energy into the subject, the book is organised around four questions: Where does it come from? To whom does it apply? How does it resolve conflict? What does it say?

The book is designed primarily as an introduction to the system and substance of international law. It is also a convenient and comprehensive reference work on the most important aspects of this burgeoning field. The book includes introductory materials on the nature, history, and theory of international law from an international relations, as well as a legal, perspective.

Also available in print at KZ358.A2 I57 2019 LAW (Reserve).

This text emphasizes the experience and practice of international law from a Canadian perspective both domestically and in foreign relations.

This book examines patterns and strategies of legal interpretation across different fields of international dispute resolution and takes an interdisciplinary approach through multiple research perspectives in language and law.

This second edition of The Law of Treaties offers theoretical and practical insights into the modern law of treaties. Chapters include new additions based on recent legal developments, such as updated information on the invalidity of treaties, and provides precise legal analyses through the integration of modern treaty practice.

This book provides a guide to the major thinkers, concepts, approaches, and debates that have shaped contemporary international legal theory. The book explores key questions and debates in international legal theory, offers new intellectual histories for the discipline, and provides fresh interpretations of significant historical figures, texts, and theoretical approaches.

This text provides an accessible and systematic overview of the key issues and debates around the sources of international law. It also offers an authoritative theoretical guide for anyone studying or working within but also outside international law wishing to understand one of its most foundational questions.

This text explains what treaties are, their contribution to international law, how they are made, how they are interpreted, and how they are implemented across domestic and international legal systems.