Trombone music
Solo trombone
M90 - M94 (including transcriptions)
Trombone and piano
M262 - M263
Trombone duets
M288 - M289
Trombone with orchestra
M1032 - M1033 (full score - piano reduction)
Trombone with string orchestra
M1132 - M1133 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .T76 (Trombone)
ML128. B73 (Brass instruments)
M1028. W5 (Wind instruments)
History/construction of the Trombone
ML965 - ML968
Techniques: studies and methods (Trombone family)
MT460 - MT468 (alto, tenor), MT472 (bass, contrabass)
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
Also sprach Arnold Jacobs : a developmental guide for brass wind musicians by
In addition to being an outstanding musician, Arnold Jacobs undoubtedly was the most influential brass teacher of the second half of the twentieth century. Countless brass (and other) musicians from all over the world traveled to Chicago to study with this master. Additionally, Mr. Jacobs also gave master classes that were popular with students, teachers and professionals in many different locations. Even if it were all known, it would be impossible to reduce to writing all of the advice Arnold Jacobs gave to thousands of students over a period of almost 70 years. Nevertheless, this book is an attempt to preserve in writing, by topic, the common ideas and variations of those ideas from which so many musicians have benefited. Bruce Nelson´s book comes in six chapters. Each chapter deals with one central aspect of brass playing
The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments by
This Companion covers many diverse aspects of brass instruments and in such detail. It provides an overview of the history of brass instruments, and their technical and musical development. Although the greatest part of the volume is devoted to the western art music tradition, with chapters covering topics from the medieval to the contemporary periods, there are important contributions on the ancient world, non-western music, vernacular and popular traditions and the rise of jazz. Despite the breadth of its narrative, the book is rich in detail, with an extensive glossary and bibliography. The editors are two of the most respected names in the world of brass performance and scholarship, and the list of contributors includes the names of many of the world's most prestigious scholars and performers on brass instruments.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopaedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopaedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians and music lovers.
A Complete Guide to Brass Instruments and Techniques by
This authoritative guide provides all the pedagogical, historical, and technical material necessary for the successful instruction of brass. Chapters discuss the historical development of individual brass instruments and focus on technique, including guidance for teachers and a complete method for brass playing. Individual instrument chapters include lists of recommended study material and reference sources.
History of the Trombone by
A History of the Trombone, the first title in the new series American Wind Band, is a comprehensive account of the development of the trombone from its initial form as a 14th-century Medieval trumpet to its alterations in the 15th century; from its marginalized use in a particular Renaissance ensemble to its acceptance in various kinds of artistic and popular music in the 19th and 20th centuries. David M. Guion accesses new and important primary source materials to present the full sweep of the instrument's history, placing particular emphasis on the people who played the instrument, the music they performed, and the relevant cultural contexts. After a general overview, the material is presented in two main sections: the first traces the development of the trombone itself and examines the literature written about it, and the second investigates the history of performance on the instrument--the ensembles it participated in, the occasions in which it took part, the people who played it, and the social, intellectual, political, economic, and technological forces that impinged on that history. Guion analyzes the trombone's place in countries all over the world and in many styles of music, such as art, opera, popular, and world music. An appendix of transcriptions of selected primary source documents, including translations, and a comprehensive bibliography round out this important reference. Fully illustrated with more than 80 images, A History of the Trombone appeals not just to trombonists but to students, scholars, and fans of all musical instruments.
Teaching Brass by
This unique combination of exercises, instruction, and reference material helps music education students learn to play and teach brass instruments, and is a resource students can use after they move into their teaching careers. Written by five brass players, Teaching Brass addresses the problems of learning and teaching the five principle brass instruments from the viewpoint of an expert teacher on each specific instrument.
The Trombone by
This is the first comprehensive study of the trombone in English. It covers the instrument, its repertoire, the way it has been played, and the social, cultural, and aesthetic contexts within which it has developed. The book explores the origins of the instrument, its invention in the fifteenth century, and its story up to modern times, also revealing hidden aspects of the trombone in different eras and countries. The book looks not only at the trombone within classical music but also at its place in jazz, popular music, popular religion, and light music. Trevor Herbert examines each century of the trombone’s development and details the fundamental impact of jazz on the modern trombone. By the late twentieth century, he shows, jazz techniques had filtered into the performance idioms of almost all styles of music and transformed ideas about virtuosity and lyricism in trombone playing.
The Trombone : an annotated bibliography by
The trombone has frequently been relegated to the status of footnotes and afterthoughts in much of the research on brass instruments. This book is designed to feature the trombone, its history, music, performers, performance practices (including jazz performance), instruments and equipment, and pedagogical topics that are of concern to those who teach the instrument. The book may be used by trombonists and the broader research community who are interested in finding material both common and arcane about the trombone. The information may be perused at three levels: browsing through the broad classifications of each chapter; checking for cross-listings in the annotations; and using the index which is keyed to the author, subject, and keyword line at the end of each annotation. The book also includes four appendixes: the first identifies relevant periodicals and journals; the second lists obituaries of trombonists not included in biographical citations; the third lists presidents of the International Trombone Association; the fourth lists recipients of the ITA Award.
The Trombone in the Renaissance by
The trombone is one of the oldest instruments of Western art music in use today, for its modern form differs little from that at its inception in the fifteenth century. With more than 100 illustrations and nearly 400 original documents, many of them not previously available in English translation, this book traces the development of the instrument's physical form, musical use, and social function during the Renaissance. From its initial appearance with shawms in the alta band, the instrument moved gradually to a more refined position, joining with cornetts and violins and accompanying voices in church music. By the late sixteenth century it was one of the most widely used instruments in Western Europe.
The Trombonist's Handbook by The Trumpet and Trombone by 
Valved Brass by
In the history of brass instruments, few developments can rival the early nineteenth-century invention of the valve for enduring significance. Nevertheless, the acceptance of valved brass instruments proved controversial, as newspapers and other documents repeatedly attest. Christian Ahrens, (Ruhr-Universit#65533;t Bochum) in his important monograph, Eine Erfindung und ihre Folgen: Blechblasinstrumente mit Ventilen (1986), devotes considerable attention to this heated controversy, as he traces the early use of valved brass instruments in the realms of art music, military music, and Volksmusik. Stressing social and aesthetic issues over the more familiar mechanical aspects, the author draws on a rich body of journalistic source material to detail a compelling reception history.
