Contemporary Keyboard (continued by Keyboard)
International piano (citations, not all fulltext)
Piano music
Solo piano
M20 - M32
Piano music, arrangements
M32.8 - M39
Piano music, 4 hands
M200 - M204
Piano music, 4 hands, arrangements
M207 - M213
Piano music, 2 pianos
M214 - M216
Chamber music
Piano trios
M310 - M344 (piano and two other instruments: collections - separate works - arrangements)
Piano quartets
M410 - M449 (piano and three other instruments: collections - separate works - arrangements)
Piano quintets
M510 - M549 (piano and four other instruments: collections - separate works - arrangements)
Piano sextets
M610 - M635 (piano and five other instruments: collections - separate works - arrangements)
Piano with orchestra (Concertos)
M1010 - M1011 (full score - 2-piano reduction)
Piano with string orchestra
M1110 - M1111 (full score - 2-piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .P3
Graded lists
ML132 .P3
History/construction of the piano; music and playing
ML650 - ML749 (Subdivided by special periods, region or country, form)
Techniques (studies and methods), teaching pieces
MT220 - MT249
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
The Cambridge Companion to the Harpsichord by
Written by fourteen leading experts in the field, this Companion covers almost every aspect of the harpsichord - the history of the instrument, tuning systems, the role of the harpsichord in ensemble, its use in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and includes separate chapters devoted to Domenico Scarlatti, J. S. Bach and Handel. Chapters featuring almost every national style are written by authors with close connections to the countries about which they are writing, including England, The Netherlands, Germany, the Austro-Hungarian Empire, France, Italy, Portugal and Spain, as well as the less extensive harpsichord traditions of Russia, the Nordic and Baltic countries, and colonial Spanish and Portuguese America. With musical examples, illustrations, a timeline of the harpsichord, and an appendix of composers, reliable editions and original sources, this book is for all who love the harpsichord, or want to learn more about it.
The Cambridge Companion to the Organ by
This Companion is an essential guide to all aspects of the organ and its music. It examines in turn the instrument, the player and the repertoire. The early chapters tell of the instrument's history and construction, identify the scientific basis of its sounds and the development of its pitch and tuning, examine the history of the organ case, and consider the current trends and conflicts within the world of organ building. Central chapters investigate the practical art of learning and playing the organ, introduce the complex area of performance practice, and outline the relationship between organ playing and the liturgy of the church. The final section explores the vast repertoire of organ music, focusing on a selection of the most important traditions.
The Evolution of Organ Music in the 17th Century by
The 17th century was the century of the organ in much the same way the 19th century was the century of the piano. Almost without exception, the major composers of the century wrote for the instrument, and most of them were practicing organists themselves. This historical book surveys, analyzes, and discusses the major national styles of 17th century European organ music. Due to the extraordinarily extensive body of literature produced during this 100-year period, this text includes 350 musical examples to illustrate the various styles. The book also includes brief discussions of the various national styles of organ building, an appendix about the various notational methods used in the 17th century, and a chapter on Spain and Portugal written by Andre Lash, an expert on the subject.
Historical Harpsichord Technique by
Yonit Lea Kosovske surveys early music and writing about keyboard performance with the aim of facilitating the development of an expressive tone in the modern player. Reviewing the work of the pedagogues and performers of the late Renaissance through the late Baroque, she gives special emphasis to la douceur du toucher or a gentle touch. Other topics addressed include posture, early pedagogy, exercises, articulation, and fingering patterns. Illustrated with musical examples as well as photos of the author at the keyboard, Historical Harpsichord Technique can be used for individual or group lessons and for amateurs and professionals.
A history of music for harpsichord or piano and orchestra by
Beginning with J.S. Bach's harpsichord concertos composed in the beginning of the eighteenth century, John Harris embarks on a musical tour that takes the reader from Germany and Austria through Europe, North America, South America, and Asia, tracing the history of music composed for harpsichord or piano and orchestra. Cloth edition originally published in 1997.
Interpreting Historical Keyboard Music by
Research in the field of keyboard studies, especially when intimately connected with issues of performance, is often concerned with the immediate working environments and practices of musicians of the past. An important pedagogical tool, the keyboard has served as the 'workbench' of countless musicians over the centuries. In the process it has shaped the ways in which many historical musicians achieved their aspirations and went about meeting creative challenges. In recent decades interest has turned towards a contextualized understanding of creative processes in music, and keyboard studies appears well placed to contribute to the exploration of this wider concern. The nineteen essays collected here encompass the range of research in the field, bringing together contributions from performers, organologists and music historians. Questions relevant to issues of creative practice in various historical contexts, and of interpretative issues faced today, form a guiding thread. Its scope is wide-ranging, with contributions covering the mid-sixteenth to early twentieth century. It is also inclusive, encompassing the diverse range of approaches to the field of contemporary keyboard studies. Collectively the essays form a survey of the ways in which the study of keyboard performance can enrich our understanding of musical life in a given period.
The Cambridge Companion to the Piano by
This collection of specially commissioned essays offers an accessible introduction to the history of the piano, performance styles, and its vast repertoire. Part 1 reviews the evolution of the piano, from its earliest forms up to the most recent developments, including the acoustics of the instrument. Part 2 explores the varied repertory in its social and stylistic contexts, including contemporary music, with a final chapter on jazz, blues and ragtime. The Companion also contains a glossary of important terms and will be a valuable source for the piano performer, student and enthusiast.
The Contemporary Piano : a performer and composer's guide to techniques and resources by
With Contemporary Piano: A Performer and Composer's Guide to Techniques and Resources, Alan Shockley provides a comprehensive resource for composers writing music that uses extended techniques for the piano, and for pianists interested in playing repertoire that makes use of techniques and/or implements unfamiliar to them. Shockley explains dozens of ways to prepare a piano without damaging the instrument, how to notate every standard technique and many, many obscure ones, and the specific geographies of every common concert hall piano. This will be the standard reference for pianists touring and playing inside-the-piano repertoire, and for composers at all levels of familiarity with the piano hoping to understand the mechanical miracle that is the modern piano.
Discoveries from the fortepiano : a manual for beginning and seasoned performers by
Discoveries from the Fortepiano uncovers eighteenth-century performance practices and philosophical beliefs, enabling modern performers to craft an authentic, historically influenced style. Using a variety of primary sources and scholarly interpretations, noted keyboard pedagogue Donna Gunnoffers a guide on Classical Era piano performance practice that is at once accurate to the scholarship and accessible to the performer. Gunn surveys and explains eighteenth-century music notational language, and from this develops tools that get at the heart of the otherwise enigmatic soundaesthetic of the era. Through over 100 music examples, Gunn provides specific answers to performance questions regarding period influences on the modern piano, including technique, dynamics, articulation, rhythm, ornamentation, and pedaling. A Companion Website houses recordings of three versions for each music examplethat demonstrate different interpretations and deliveries. Gunn encourages the reader to study the sources, listen carefully, and experiment with the past in the present. Remarkably researched and engagingly written, Discoveries from the Fortepiano is an indispensable aid to any pianist who seeksboth an academically and artistically sound approach to performing in the Classical Era style.
The Early Pianoforte by
This is the first comprehensive historical and technological study of the pianoforte based on important primary source material. Most histories of the piano begin with its invention by Bartolomeo Cristofori in Florence in about 1700: this study begins with the earliest fifteenth- and sixteenth-century manuscript sources and extends over Cristofori's rediscovery of the principle of the hammer action, the early exportation of Florentine pianofortes to prominent European courts, and the building of copies of these instruments in Portugal, Spain and Germany. Technical information is presented in a comparative format and the text is illustrated with many photographs, measurements, line drawings and tables. While written primarily for the technical specialist, there is much here of significance for the history of the piano and performance practice.
Giraffes, black dragons, and other pianos : a technological history from Cristofori to the modern concert grand by
This lavishly illustrated book treats the history of the piano from its invention in 1700 to the present in terms of its technology. Looking at the technologies of design, materials, and manufacture, and focusing its description on specific existing pianos, it describes the changes in pianos from the earliest days to contemporary instruments. This revised edition incorporates the results of recent research that increases knowledge of the work of Bartolomeo Cristofori, the inventor of the piano; changes perceptions of how eighteenth-century pianos were made and used; adds to the available information about the important contributions of the Steinway Company; and describes the most recent changes to the piano. The first edition of this book received the Otto Kinkeldey Award of the American Musicological Society as the best musicological book in English published in 1982-83. Reviews of the First Edition "If you have ever looked under the lid of a piano and wondered about the technical how and why of it all, this is the book to sate your curiosity. . . . Good's vigorous prose breathes life into the technology . . . and brings forward the people involved, with humor and sensitivity." --Los Angeles Times "This is a fine book. Accurate technical description, an abundance of photographs and drawings, and a very readable text complement a provocative thesis." --Technology and Culture "Intriguing reading. It turns out that the story of the piano and its evolution . . . is rife with human interest, at least when Good relates the details." --Keyboard
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, 4th ed. by
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire continues to be the go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students. Newly updated and expanded with over 250 new composers, this incomparable resource expertly guides readers to solo piano literature. What did a given composer write? What interesting work have I never heard of? How difficult is it? What are its special musical features? How can I reach the publisher? It's all here. Featuring information for more than 2,000 composers, the fourth edition includes enhanced indexes. The new "Hinson" will be an indispensable guide for many years to come.
The Independent Piano Teacher's Studio Handbook by
(Educational Piano Library). This handy and thorough guide is designed to help the independent piano teacher in all aspects of running his/her own studio. Whether it be business practices such as payment plans, taxes, and marketing, or teaching tips involving technique, composition, or sight reading, this all-inclusive manual has it all! Topics include: Developing and Maintaining a Professional Studio, Finances, Establishing Lessons, Studio Recitals, Tuition and Payment Plans, Composition and Improvisation, Marketing, Communications with Parents, Make-up Policies, Zoning and Business Licenses, Teaching Materials and Learning Styles, The Art of Practice, Arts Funding, and many more!
The Mechanical Muse: the piano, pianism and piano music, c.1760-1850 by
This book charts the piano's accession from musical curiosity to cultural icon, examining the instrument itself in its various guises as well as the music written for it. Both the piano and piano music were very much the product of the intellectual, cultural and social environments of the period and both were subject to many influences, directly and indirectly. These included character (individualism), the vernacular ('folk/popular') and creativity (improvisation), all of which are discussed generally and with respect to the music itself. Derek Carew surveys the most important pianistic genres of the period (variations, rondos, and so on), showing how these changed from their received forms into vehicles of Romantic expressiveness. The piano is also looked at in its role as an accompanying instrument. The Mechanical Muse will be of interest to anyone who loves the piano or the period, from the non-specialist to the music postgraduate.
A Natural History of the Piano by
A beautifully illustrated, totally engrossing celebration of the piano, and the composers and performers who have made it their own. With honed sensitivity and unquestioned expertise, Stuart Isacoff--pianist, critic, teacher, and author of Temperament: How Music Became a Battleground for the Great Minds of Western Civilization--unfolds the ongoing history and evolution of the piano and all its myriad wonders: how its very sound provides the basis for emotional expression and individual style, and why it has so powerfully entertained generation upon generation of listeners. He illuminates the groundbreaking music of Mozart, Beethoven, Liszt, Schumann, and Debussy. He analyzes the breathtaking techniques of Glenn Gould, Oscar Peterson, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Arthur Rubinstein, and Van Cliburn, and he gives musicians including Alfred Brendel, Murray Perahia, Menahem Pressler, and Vladimir Horowitz the opportunity to discuss their approaches. Isacoff delineates how classical music and jazz influenced each other as the uniquely American art form progressed from ragtime, novelty, stride, boogie, bebop, and beyond, through Scott Joplin, Fats Waller, Duke Ellington, Bill Evans, Thelonious Monk, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Cecil Taylor, and Bill Charlap. A Natural History of the Piano distills a lifetime of research and passion into one brilliant narrative. We witness Mozart unveiling his monumental concertos in Vienna's coffeehouses, using a special piano with one keyboard for the hands and another for the feet; European virtuoso Henri Herz entertaining rowdy miners during the California gold rush; Beethoven at his piano, conjuring healing angels to console a grieving mother who had lost her child; Liszt fainting in the arms of a page turner to spark an entire hall into hysterics. Here is the instrument in all its complexity and beauty. We learn of the incredible craftsmanship of a modern Steinway, the peculiarity of specialty pianos built for the Victorian household, the continuing innovation in keyboards including electronic ones. And most of all, we hear the music of the masters, from centuries ago and in our own age, brilliantly evoked and as marvelous as its most recent performance. With this wide-ranging volume, Isacoff gives us a must-have for music lovers, pianists, and the armchair musician.
Nineteenth-Century Piano Music by
First Published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
One Handed : a guide to piano music for one hand by
This guide to the piano literature for the one-handed pianist surveys over 2,100 individual piano pieces which include not only concert literature but pedagogical pieces as well. Following the introduction are four chapters cataloguing original works for the right hand alone, original works for the left hand alone, music arranged or transcribed for one hand alone, and concerted works for one hand in concert with other pianists, instruments, or voices. Each entry assesses the individual composition, its quality, its difficulty, its particular appeal, and its uses with the composer's name, dates, and nationality, where possible. Also included is a selected discography of commercially produced phonodiscs, compact discs, and cassettes. Instructors and pianists alike will appreciate this exhaustive guide to one-handed piano music. To aid further research, a bibliography of books, articles, and theses about the literature is provided along with a chapter that lists the contents of thirty-six anthologies devoted to one-handed piano music. This unique reference also includes an index.
Physics of the Piano by
Why does a piano sound like a piano? A similar question can be asked of virtually all musical instruments. A particular note-such as middle C-can be produced by a piano, a violin, a clarinet, and many other instruments, yet it is easy for even a musically untrained listener to distinguish between these different instruments. A central quest in the study of musical instruments is to understand why the sound of the "same" note depends greatly on the instrument, and to elucidate which aspects of an instrument are most critical in producing the musical tones characteristic of the instrument. The primary goal of this book is to investigate these questions for the piano. The explanations in this book use a minimum of mathematics, and are intended for anyone who is interested in music and musical instruments. At the same time, there are many insights relating physics and the piano that will likely be interesting and perhaps surprising for many physicists.
The Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases by
Now in paperback The Pianist's Guide to Transcrip-tions, Arrange-ments, and Paraphrases Maurice Hinson Lists transcriptions for piano from orchestral and other compositions, more than 2,000 works in all. ..". a thorough summary of an important body of music written by a musician of extraordinary, perhaps unrivaled knowledge of the repertory." --American Music Teacher Some of the most celebrated composers--Beethoven, Brahms, Busoni, Liszt, Rachmaninoff, and Ravel--prepared piano transcriptions of some of their own works, as well as those of other composers. Maurice Hinson has selected, from the myriads of transcriptions now in existence, more than 2,000 such works of real musical worth. The Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases describes pieces for solo piano, duet, and two pianos, as well as outstanding transcriptions for one hand. Most of them are written for piano(s) alone, but a considerable number are scored for piano(s) and a small instrumental ensemble or a full orchestra. Thanks to the organization of this volume, the user can see at a glance the various transcriptions that have been made of a particular composition (say, a Schubert song) and also become aware of the breadth of a particular transcriber's output (as in the case of the prodigiously prolific Liszt). Maurice Hinson, Senior Professor Emeritus of Piano at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, was founding editor of the Journal of the American Liszt Society and is a contributor to the New Grove Dictionary of American Music. He is known for his many articles, videos, and lecture recitals, especially those on early American piano music. He is author of several books on piano literature, including the indispensable Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, 3rd edition (Indiana University Press). March 2001 (cloth 1981) 192 pages, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4 paper 0-253-21456-4 $19.95 s
The pianist's guide to standard teaching and performance literature by
This reference book is an invaluable resource for teachers, students and performers for evaluating and selecting piano solo literature. Concise and thoroughly researched, thousands of works, from the Baroque through the Contemporary periods, have been graded and evaluated in detail. Includes an alphabetical list of composers, explanations of works, and much more.
The Piano : A History in 100 Pieces by
A fascinating history of the piano explored through 100 pieces chosen by one of the UK's most renowned concert pianists An astonishingly versatile instrument, the piano allows just two hands to play music of great complexity and subtlety. For more than two hundred years, it has brought solo and collaborative music into homes and concert halls and has inspired composers in every musical genre--from classical to jazz and light music. Charting the development of the piano from the late eighteenth century to the present day, pianist and writer Susan Tomes takes the reader with her on a personal journey through 100 pieces including solo works, chamber music, concertos, and jazz. Her choices include composers such as Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Robert Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Debussy, Gershwin, and Philip Glass. Looking at this history from a modern performer's perspective, she acknowledges neglected women composers and players including Fanny Mendelssohn, Maria Szymanowska, Clara Schumann, and Amy Beach.
The Piano in Chamber Ensemble, Third Edition by
In this expanded and updated edition, The Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide features over 3200 compositions, from duos to octets, by more than 1600 composers. Maurice Hinson and Wesley Roberts catalog published works for piano with two or more instruments with information on performance level, length, individual movements, overall style, and publisher. Divided into sections according to the number and types of instruments involved, The Piano in Chamber Ensemble then subdivides entries according to the actual scoring. Keyboard, string, woodwind, brass, and percussion players and teachers will find a wealth of chamber works from all periods in this invaluable guide.
Piano Roles : three hundred years of life with the piano by
The piano puts whole worlds of musical sound at the fingertips of one player, evoking the singing of a solo voice, the textural richness of an orchestra, and the rhythmic impetus of a dance band. It has been background or centre stage in concert-going, parlour singing, choir rehearsals, theatrical tryouts, and many other activities, forging a common bond among people of very different social spheres. This delightfully written and copiously illustrated book examines the place of the piano in classical and popular musical cultures and the piano's changing cultural roles over the past three centuries. Eminent authors discuss the impetus for the invention of the piano; the innovations in its design, manufacturing, and marketing that promoted its growing significance in concert life and domestic life; and the importance of the piano lesson in the upbringing of the young especially of girls. They explore the relationship between the piano on the public stage and the piano in the parlour; the spread of the piano to all parts of the world; and the images formed around the piano in literature, art, and movies. And they eloquently describe what the piano has meant to different eras, as it ev
Piano Servicing, Tuning, and Rebuilding : a guide for the professional, student, and hobbyist by
For over forty years, Arthur A. Reblitz's Piano Servicing, Tuning, and Rebuilding has been the gold-standard manual for piano technicians and hands-on hobbyists who want to rebuild or maintain pianos. Reblitz demystifies the daunting prospect of working on a piano as he guides readers through every detail of upright and grand piano mechanics and describes servicing and repairs with understandable, easy-to-follow instructions. The third edition of this invaluable handbook includes over 60 new and 300 remastered images of piano anatomy, tools, and techniques; consideration of ivory alternatives and the newest adhesives and lubricants; new material covering the art of tuning by ear and today's sophisticated electronic tuning devices; new repair and rebuilding techniques; and a brand new glossary of terms. Piano Servicing, Tuning, and Rebuilding provides piano technician and servicing programs, pianists, and amateur players and hobbyists around the world with an essential twenty-first-century guide to achieving peak performance and maximum longevity for their instruments.
Tradition and Craft in Piano-Playing by
Drawing on long experience as performer, broadcaster and pedagogue, the author records what she learnt from her teachers about Liszt's interpretation of the piano music. Tilly Fleischmann n#65533;e Swertz (1882-1967), who was born in Cork to German parents, studied at the Royal Academy of Music in Munich from 1901 to 1905 with two renowned pianists, Bernhard Stavenhagen and Berthold Kellermann, both pupils and close associates of Franz Liszt, who was not only one of the greatest virtuosi of his age, but perhaps the most influential teacher of his time. Her book, written in the mid-20th century, is now published in full for the first time. It draws on her long experience as performer, broadcaster and pedagogue, and records what she learnt from her teachers about Liszt's interpretation of the piano music of his contemporaries, in particular of his friend Chopin, how he wanted his own piano works performed, and what special techniques facilitated the interpretations he favoured, as well as his own virtuoso performance. This is presented in discussions of many well-known works of the classical piano repertoire, and richly illustrated with extracts from the compositions in question. These musical examples have been played and video-recorded for the DVD accompanying the book. This is a document of considerable historical importance, offering an authoritative account of Liszt's teaching methods as imparted by two of his former students to whom he was particularly close. It contains much valuable information of a kind that is unavailable elsewhere: none of the reminiscences of Liszt published by his students discuss technical matters or interpretation in comparable detail. It records a direct and authentic oral tradition of continental European pianism going back to the nineteenth century. DVD musical examples kindly provided by Gabriela Mayer Review Extract After completing Tradition and Craft in Piano-Playing in the early 1950s, Tilly Fleischmann must have been deeply disappointed when she was informed by the publishers that the costs involved in engraving the 300 muscial examples were found to be prohibitive. The book consequently remained in a manuscript for over sixty years, apart from a radically abridged version privately printed in the early 1980s under the title : 'Aspects of the Liszt Tradition'. Now, however, the complete treatise, edited by Ruth Fleischmann (Tilly Fleischmann's grandaughter) and John Buckly, has at last been made available by Carysfort Press. .........This is a well-designed volume, practically laid out in a format suitable for reading at the keyboard, and both the text and musical examples (which have been typeset and edited by John Buckley) are admirably clear. There is a helpful accompanying DVD in which Gabriela Mayer of the Cork School of Music plays the various examples and demonstrates the author's method, and Patrick Zuk of the University of Durham has written a very informative introduction in which the significance of the book is discussed and its historical context is briefly established.
