Skip to Main Content

CLST 205 OL

CLST 205 OL

Introduction

Journal articles are important sources for your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. If you are looking for scholarly or peer reviewed articles, you can typically restrict your search results to only peer reviewed journal articles by applying a search limit in the database.

To locate articles on your topic, use Omni or an index or a database such as the ones recommended on this guide. 

Tip: If you know the name of the journal you are looking for you can click on the Journal Search tab in Omni to search by title. 

 

Key Indexes

L'Année philologique 

Comprehensive index to scholarly research in classical studies. Content coverage: Second millennium B.C. - 800 A.D.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

JSTOR

An archival collection of journal articles that includes core titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from the first volume to within 2-5 years of the current volume. In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to some titles from various publishers.

Project MUSE

A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, fine arts, social sciences and mathematics.

‚Äč

Other Useful Indexes

MLA International Bibliography

This is the standard bibliography for scholarly writing on literature, linguistics, drama, folklore, etc. Indexes over 4,000 international journals, as well as monographs, dissertations, and other publications.

Philosopher's Index

Indexes articles published in more than 480 journals, as well as for books and anthologies.  

Broad Multidisciplinary Indexes

Academic Search Complete

Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
 

Google Scholar

Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.