Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.
If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.
Journal articles can be found in all subject areas using the Simple Search Box in Omni. But Omni doesn't search ALL library resources.
Use subject specific databases for comprehensive or focused searching. Use the advanced search box of that database, which will will have useful features and limits that will make your searches precise and well structured.
Common elements to look for are "Subject Heading / Subject / Descriptor" and "Publication Date".
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700
RAMBI
Indexes articles on Jewish Studies.
Index Islamicus
An international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world from 1906-onwards.
Index Islamicus,1665-1905 : a Bibliography of Articles on Islamic subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications
Z7835 .M6 B43 1989t
Feminae Medieval Women and Gender Index
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
Once you’re in Omni:
• Select Journal Search option from the top menu
• Enter a journal title in the search box
• Press 
Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdings or the years covered online.
Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic.
Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on 
.
If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in Omni for the title might find it.
If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.
Articles contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them.
In Omni, the limit Peer-reviewed Journals can be helpful, but it is not 100% accurate. Omni is drawing upon data from innumerable resources (mostly full-text databases, indexes and abstracts) so there are bound to be differences in opinion, errors or omissions.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholary from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference
You can also search the database, Ulrichsweb, that gives detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
There are hundreds of journal relevant to History. The following are a few journals, relevant to this course and to which Queen's Library subscribes:
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Speculum: a Journal of Medieval Studies
Comitatus: A Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies
PR251.C65 (1970-2015)