Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other related materials. Some will contain the full text of journals but if not, click
or the full text link if available
If the Get It link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find it.
If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.
America: History and Life
Indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database of both scholarly and general interest articles.
A multidisciplinary database of archived scholarly journals, which contain a great deal of historical material. However, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 3-5 years. If you only search JSTOR, you may be missing a lot.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
The collection, Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century, provides access to more than five thousand unique books covering sex, sexuality and gender issues across the sciences and humanities and throughout history.
More databases dealing with Gender.
Academic search Complete
Scholarly full-text journals and peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects. 1975 to present.
Use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:
What It Does
Searches for exact phrase
Truncation (usually an *)
Searches for all forms of a word
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
Lets you broaden or narrow your search
Database thesaurus or index
Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference between scholarly, trade and popular periodicals.
There are many scholarly journals which focus on this topic and which you will find indexed in the various databases.
Some titles include:
American Historical Review
Gender & Society
Journal of American History
Journal of Social History
Journal of Women's History
William and Mary Quarterly
Once you’re in Omni:
• Select "Journal Search" from the top menu
• Type in the name of the journal
Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdings and or the years covered online.
Can't resist the urge to Google?