Skip to main content

Gender Studies

A selective guide to resources in Gender Studies at Queen's University Library

Articles

Journal articles are important sources for your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade. If you are looking for scholarly or peer reviewed articles, you can typically restrict your search results to only peer reviewed journal articles by applying a search limit in the database.

To locate articles on your topic, use an index or a database such as the ones recommended on this guide. These indexes may include citations to book reviews, editorials, dissertations, etc; to limit your search to articles apply the relevant "source type" limiter.

Tip: If you know the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper you are looking for you can click on the Journal Search tab in Omni to search by title. 

Key Indexes

Incorporates formerly separate databases such as Women's Studies International, Sexual Diversity Studies, and more. This database may lean more towards the Social Sciences rather than Arts and Humanities so be sure to investigate some of the other databases listed below.
 
Premiere database for finding sociological research, including gender studies, studies in violence and power, family and social welfare and more. Searches over 2000 journals.
 
This database focuses on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.

Other Indexes

A subject index to alternative or radical journals and magazines.
 
Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly peer-reviewed academic journals, as well as newspaper and audio material, including podcasts and news transcripts.
 
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.
 
Interdisciplinary, with a focus on publications from ethnic, minority and native presses.
 
GeoBase includes human geography and development studies.
 
Google Scholar
Multidisciplinary. Use Google's scholarly search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. Access from the library's link to be prompted to enter your NetID and password, which will then activate the library's full text subscriptions via Google Scholar.
 
Multidisciplinary. Provides international coverage and indexes journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters.
 
MLA International Bibliography
Comprehensive index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres, etc.

PepWeb
Full text database focusing on the topic of psychoanalysis.
 
PsycINFO
Indexes the international literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Additional Resources

Africa Knowledge Project
Africa Knowledge Project promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora.
 
English language. Includes African Women Bibliographic Database which has over 22,000 citations from 1986 to current. Materials indexed include: books; government documents; articles in edited books; journal articles; dissertations; videos.
 
A searchable bibliography with citations to journal articles and books.
 
Medieval women and gender index.
 
This searchable database provides citations to books and essay collections of feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on British and American literature. Emphasis also on general resources and introductory texts in feminist theory. Use MLA International Bibliography to research specific literary authors and to find citations to journal articles.
 
A current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Started as a special project at the University of Utrecht and continued by the International Institute of Social History.

Accessing the Full Text

Some databases provide you with a link to the full-text of the article. To locate others that are not full text, try one of these options:

In the database click on the Get it @ Queen's Link icon (show below):

This will take you to another window which identifies other databases that have full-text of your article. However your article may only be available in print so always check Omni. If Queen's doesn't have access to it, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan.

 

Staying Current

Current Awareness Services
Alerting, current awareness or table of contents services are designed to assist researchers in keeping up-to-date with current literature in a discipline. A number of databases and electronic journals provide automated alerting services based on your search profile or search strategy. Depending on the service, you may receive emailed tables of contents of your chosen journals, or a list of individual article citations. For specific journals for which you would like to set up alerts, look up the journal title in Omni and choose the link (when available) to the publisher's platform.
 
"Reprints, on a quarterly basis, the table of contents pages of over 150 magazines and journals, from academic journals such as Signs and Feminist Studies to special interest periodicals on women of color, art, law, health care, lesbian issues, and women around the world. Issues published prior to 2008 are available in Stauffer Reference Z7963 .F44 F44.