Research Guides: Biology: Streaming Video

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand
An online digital library of feature film titles licensed for Canadian viewing.
Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including: 20th Century Fox, Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, etc. Title selections include classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.

Criterion-on-Demand requires users to install Mozill Firefox Silverlight for viewing on Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari web browsers. If you are using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox, Silverlight is NOT required. Criterion on Demand will not work on a mobile device.

Films from 20th Century Fox are restricted to viewing on campus only.

NOTE: There are intermittent issues with access to content. As a first step, please clear cache (or open an incognito window) and try again.

Please see Criterion-on-Demand Guide for detailed information
Curio.ca
Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — thousands of programs and resources can be accessed on this site. Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review, Marketplace and George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.
Access to Curio is restricted to Canada.
To take advantage of campus features such as creating personal playlists, you will need to create a Curio.ca account.
Creating a Curio.ca account
- Access Curio.ca
- Under the LOGIN tab on the Curio.ca homepage
- Enter your Queen’s email address
- Complete the steps to set up your account.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand Humanities and Social Sciences Collection is a streaming video service which provides access to thousands of educational videos in the humanities and social sciences.
It includes content from A&E, BBC, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, National Geographic, TED, HBO Documentary Films, and numerous other educational film providers. Create a free account to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and embed clips. Closed captioning and transcripts available on many titles. Sample citations for four common styles are provided for each video. New content is added regularly.
Global Environmental Justice Project
The Global Environmental Justice project is an award-winning collection of 33 documentaries and teacher's guides curated by faculty. Initially focusing on Asia and North America, the GEJ project provides educators and students with an online collection of films that explore the intersections of human rights, environmental degradation, colonization, industrial development, and climate change.
National Film Board | Office national du film
This collection of over 1,100 streamed videos from the NFB is freely available for personal use. In addition, Queen's Library has purchased public performance rights for educational use and display at Queen's. Available in French and English.
Date Coverage: 1920s to present